We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Chicago!”
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The James Chicago
Ranked #43 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Best hotel in Chicago!”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

5 stars!!! James is in a perfect location only 1 block from Millennium Mile and totally walking distance to everything in Downtown Chicago. I found a really good deal on one of the opaque travel booking sites, which ended up being a phenomenal value for this upscale hotel. The David Burke restaurant is amazing – they had a great deal for lunch Monday-Friday for $15 you get a steak (I had filet mignon), a vodka or gin martini, and a side dish (we had truffle fries and basil whipped potatoes). My girlfriend and I went there for a Friday late lunch and were so happy with the whole experience. However if you’re staying at the hotel, you can enjoy the DB restaurant 24 hours a day with room service. The bathroom amenities were all sulfate-free, organic, and smelled really good. The nightly turn-down service, bathrobe, and little cookie/treat on your pillow was such a nice touch to come home to after a night out on the town. I also really liked the little sitting area in the corner of the room. Oh, and the triple distilled water refilled twice daily was awesome. Finally, the last amazing perk is that the hotel is across the street from a Trader Joes so you can buy a bottle of wine, juice/water, or snacks and save money if you’re the type of person that may dip into the mini bar. I will definitely return to the James!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nevans26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
nevans26-

Wow! Thanks for the title of "Best Hotel in Chicago!", hope you don't mind me using this in our new Marketing material!

Thank you for the detailed review! Glad you enjoyed the new Complimentary water program and Intelligent Nutrients amenity line along with David Burke's Primehouse. Yep, all food in the hotel, whether in Dining Room, In Room Dining, the JBar or in our event space comes from the same kitchen under the direction of 1 Culinary team. This insures that your dining experience is consistent throughout the hotel.

Best.

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,994
    857
    218
    88
    51
See reviews for
477
1,268
181
748
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
174 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband had a business meeting in Chicago. When he asked me to join him we decided to look for an exceptional boutique hotel. The James is a great location...just two short blocks off of Michigan. The staff was attentive to our every need. The concierge were wonderful. The gym was great. Before seeing it I was sure that I would get day passes to a local fitness facility, however once I saw the gym with the weight equipment and no lines there was no way I was leaving the hotel for a fitness facility.

We had a lovely suite on the 17th floor (top floor of the hotel). Unfortunately, we didn't have a view at all. We faced the rooms on the other side of the courtyard. Very disappointing. Also, the layout of the suite was really funky....a little couch, table aligned right in front of a large frlat scree tv. Much better off watching a tv of this size from the bed, which we did since we had a tv by the bed as well.

The David Burke steakhouse which was where we ate breakfast certainly did not live up to its name. It was so disappointing. In fact, the egg white omelet as well as the eggs that my husband ordered were inedible. They tasted like oil. It got to the point on the last day that I finally sent them back and ordered what was supposed to be steel cut oatmeal, which unfortunately was watered down and cold.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
susief18-

Thank you for sharing your experience at The James Chicago and David Burke's Primehouse. While I'm happy to read all the great things about your experience, I am very disappointed by your breakfast issues. the Egg White Omelette is my favorite thing on the breakfast menu and I'm sorry that it was not prepared well for you and that the alternative was not good either. I will address with team. Interestingly, our breakfast line cooks have been with us since opening in 2006 and we have always gotten great feedback re: this meal period. I guess I'll have to do more taste tests to insure consistency (this is the tough part of my job!)

Thanks for the kind review and 4 Stars.

Best.
Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Very prompt and friendly service from all the staff. Superb location. Room was very modern and pretty and clean, with windows that opened. Room price was reasonable. We enjoyed several great restaurants located within a few blocks of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeropsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
zeropsa-

Thank you! I appreciate the great feedback regarding your stay at The James.

I'm glad you enjoyed and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Arrived at the James on the 30th Sept. I was visiting family in Chicago and since this was my first trip to the USA, I must say , I was blown away. The staff were so attentive, nothing was too much trouble for them, especially the chappy on the door.
When we got our room, it was beautiful, clean, fresh. Great View!! Bathroom was outstanding..
Cant rate this hotel any higher! Will be returning next year, definately!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazBumBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
CazBumBaz

WOW!! Fantastic Review! Thank you!

I will let our Door Assitants Scott, Luis and Bernie know that you appreciated thier service.

Look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Best.
Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

A friend of mine and I stayed at the James over most recent labor day weekend, and I was disappointed. The hotel staff were very courteous and helpful, except for giving us grief for wanting separate receipts upon checkout. But our room was cramped and the air conditioning couldn't keep up with the heat (admittedly, it was a hot weekend). An engineer came to service the air conditioner, but couldn't really resolve the problem. The fitness center is nice, but not nearly as nice as the ones at the Chicago Hilton or the Trump. We paid as much at the James as I've paid at any Chicago hotel (including a $399 Saturday night), but I don't think it belongs in the top tier based on our experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDMATH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
Paul-

Thank you for sharing your experience with The James. I'm sorry that we let you down and regret that the Air Conditioner was unable to properly cool the room. Glad the staff was good except for your departure experience. Certainly not a problem to provice multiple receipts.

I appreciate you candid feedback and should you choose to try us again, invite you to reach out to me directly to make your reservation.

Best
Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

The James is in an ideal location for a first time visitor to Chicago, being only five minutes' walk from the Magnificent Mile and close to the L stop.

The hotel is well decorated and has one of the largest and most well equipped hotel gyms I've seen. Our room, a studio, was enormous. Two huge flat screen tellys, comfortable sofa and bed and large bathroom.

Staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and there is the added bonus of a late checkout (2pm) as standard.

If you're looking for a city centre hotel Chicago, I doubt you could do any better than The James. I wouldn't hesitate staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7ericcantona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

I would stay at this hotel based on the caliber of their service alone. I had purchased a stay for my best friend's wedding night off a third-party site. Not only did they not treat me like I was third-rate (which most places do in my opinion), they were amazingly sweet and accommodating. They went out of their way to make sure my best friend's evening was special. The service, care, and attention I received is some of the best I've ever had. A special thanks to Krista in the concierge department for making me look good! Needless to say, my friends had a magical night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Native_Chicagoan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
dana hotel and spa
#54 of 189 in Chicago
3,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Property: The James Chicago
Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#29 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Enjoy convenience at your fingertips with The James Hotels Mobile App and in-room tablet powered by KEYPR offering an intuitive way to discover our amenities and services. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing