We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feast Of Flavors...”
Review of Carnivale

Carnivale
Reserve with OpenTable
Carnivale is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #100 of 9,525 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $40
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: West Loop
Cross street: Halsted
Transit: Bus: The #8 Halsted at Fulton Market/Lake: 2 minute walk The # 65 Grand Avenue at Desplaines:10 minute walk The # 56 Milwaukee stops at Fulton/Desplaines: 2 minute walk Train: The Blue Line at Milwaukee/Grand: 10 minute walk The Pink Line at Clinton: 5 min walk The Green Line at Clinton: 5 min walk
Kokomo, Indiana
Level Contributor
257 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Feast Of Flavors...”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I've passed this place many times heading northbound on the Kennedy Expressway through downtown Chicago, not giving it a second thought. I then had an opportunity to go, and it is an exceptional place. Whoever designed the interior is an artistic mastermind; long before your meal is served, you will have a feast for the eyes. The decor is intense with exploding colors and a vibrant motif, and the feel of the place is easygoing and carefree; it absorbs you without being overbearing, and the place isn't noisy--yet the atmosphere is so open.

The food is excellent and made with great pride and presentation. My awesome server (Moises) went beyond the call of duty with cocktail and meal recommendations and great attentiveness with a smile. You have to treat yourself to this magnificent place. You owe it to yourself. Come and experience... With $7 valet parking, an incredible menu, wonderful cocktails, and a setting that's worlds apart from the ordinary, what more can you ask for??? A feast of flavors for the eyes, mind, and mouth!

Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrCrossIsBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    189
    59
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fun & Festive in Chicago”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

What a festive place! We had our family Christmas dinner here last week &
what a treat. From the moment you arrive your senses are met with pleasant music,
lots of decor & artwork, very colorful lighting & the wonderful smells & scents wafting
throughout the cavernous restaurant. As its name implies, the menu here is a
delightful sampling of many cultures from Mexico down through Central America and
all through South America.

Needless to say, the specialty drink menu is huge, the Tequila list is expansive as
well as the wine list. Some items at our table included beef tenderloin, pork shoulder,
paella, a charcuterie plate & a delicious chicken breast. The standouts were a to die for Lobster Bisque and a mixed ceviche which included shrimp, salmon, octopus, calamari
and tuna in separate bowls & sauces. A simple but tasty banana with butterscotch &
oreo type crumbs in a jar does the trick for dessert.

This is a fun place to eat with a fabulous menu. Bring some friends & have a great time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Plenty of options on the menu for any taste and preference. The latin influence on the menu makes for a nice "change of pace" for what hits the place. Kitchen always does a good job with the preparation and the the attentiveness of the servers is outstanding.

Helpful?
Thank Shawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
253 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Over the top”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This entire experience is over the top. From the moment you walk in the door of Carnivale, you know this will be a unique experience. The decor alone is worth the trip. Combine that with exceptional food, special drinks you'll find no where else, terrific service, and an accommodating manager and you have an experience that would be hard to beat.
My husband recently reviewed this on Trip Advisor but did not mention how the staff bent over backwards to be sure we had an enjoyable evening. Not only was Zachara attentive and responsive but the manager wanted to make sure we understood our split bill and went out of his way to clarify it for us. You can tell they want us back again and again. We have been here previously and enjoyed the food -- that is what brought us back this time. Now we have many reasons to visit this special place in Chicago.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Festive Latin-Fusion Food in Chicago”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Four of us had an exceptional meal at Carnivale. The Lechon Asado (pork shoulder), Senator's chicken breast and Arrachero (grilled skirt steak) for entrees...all were exceptional. For appetizers we had the guacamole and salmon ceviche (both were great). Two in our party enjoyed the coconut mojitos, one sangria and the highlight was the Smoky Bandit (a clever lipstick shaped rimming of cayenne) were all fun and delicious. Our server (Zachara) was friendly, helpful with recommendations and very responsive. The decorations are over-the-top. Christmas trees with mannequins split through the middle with bold colors and exotic trimmings contributed to the festive atmosphere. The high quality is reflected in the prices but well worth it. We will be back again and again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerald_Froschauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnivale also viewed

 
Chicago, IL
 

Been to Carnivale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing