We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“S & M Pic on Wall” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Carnivale

Carnivale
Reserve with OpenTable
Carnivale is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 9,106 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $40
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, South American, Central American, Gluten Free, Mexican, Caribbean, Cuban, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: West Loop
Cross street: Halsted
Transit: Bus: The #8 Halsted at Fulton Market/Lake: 2 minute walk The # 65 Grand Avenue at Desplaines:10 minute walk The # 56 Milwaukee stops at Fulton/Desplaines: 2 minute walk Train: The Blue Line at Milwaukee/Grand: 10 minute walk The Pink Line at Clinton: 5 min walk The Green Line at Clinton: 5 min walk
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“S & M Pic on Wall”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We came for a family celebration. The food was high quality, but not well-seasoned. The colorful decor was very pleasing until I turned around and noticed I was standing in front of a bondage picture--a woman with ropes encircling her naked butt. So... not so good for families, with very little to recommend it except for the wonderful colors.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank leslielynn1341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    170
    52
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cute place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Food is mostly a fusion, Not really authentic.
Decoration is really awesome. Not my favorite place, but it is good.
Best Day Saturday night

Helpful?
Thank Fideo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“High Energy Dining with Latin Flare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Come to this place for "bread and circus" as the late ABC7 food critic James Ward used to say.
Lively atmosphere with colorful decor, latin music, and an upscale latin inspired menu. Large selection of mojitos; try the Coconut version. The main dining room is large with a staircase in the back leading to second floor seating. Attentive, friendly wait staff.
The Chicago Restaurant week menu offered a red pepper soup, branzino, and a steak each with lots of flavor. The dessert did not live up to the other courses.
Easily accessible from the expressway( 1block) with neighborhood street parking. Can be crowed on the weekend so be prepared to wait a bit even with a reservation.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved the ceviche”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I am always on the lookout for good ceviche and I have to say I really enjoyed the ceviche at Carnivale. I went there with 4 co-workers; we all enjoyed our meals although they weren't quite as lovely as the ceviche. The prices were kind of high, as others have mentioned, but I did leave with leftovers. The atmosphere is so unique that it definitely matches the name. Everyone should go there at least once just to experience the place--definitely one of a kind.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beanvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Business meeting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I recently visit with tow business associates. We started with a trio of ceviche which was tasty if a little small. We all ordered the streak and it was prepared to perfection. The service was very attentive and the the energy was lively. Although i enjoyed my meal very much Carnivale may be more a special occasion location than a business meal location. A bit noisy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnivale also viewed

 

Been to Carnivale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing