We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Celebration” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carnivale

Carnivale
Reserve with OpenTable
Carnivale is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #101 of 9,467 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $40
Cuisines: Latin, South American, Central American, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: West Loop
Cross street: Halsted
Transit: Bus: The #8 Halsted at Fulton Market/Lake: 2 minute walk The # 65 Grand Avenue at Desplaines:10 minute walk The # 56 Milwaukee stops at Fulton/Desplaines: 2 minute walk Train: The Blue Line at Milwaukee/Grand: 10 minute walk The Pink Line at Clinton: 5 min walk The Green Line at Clinton: 5 min walk
Chicago
Level Contributor
88 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Family Celebration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We chose a Sunday at opening time for a family gathering. The waitress welcomed us warmly into the vibrant dining room with soaring ceilings. Bright, but not unflattering lighting. We shared a couple Ceviche, just the right amount of heat, fresh taste. Most of had the Arracherra, great flavor. The Paella was good, not great. Sangria, the red, was delicious, limoncello after dinner was very good. Overall a satisying experience, nothing I would choose choose to go back to eat. 5 of us, 2 drinking about 50 a person. Our server made the evening pleasant. I would like to go back on an evening to hear the music.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank indy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    184
    57
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So Much Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

A few friends and I were in Chicago on a girl's weekend and we were looking for a fun place for dinner and drinks, and we were not disappointed by Carnivale!

The atmosphere great for a fun night out, the food was great (we just got a few appetizers and ate tapas-style, definitely get the civiche!) and the service was very good, though our server was busy because it was a Saturday night.

Carnivale is not cheap, but worth what you pay, we actually got out for about $40 per person with 2-3 drinks per person because we split a bunch of appetizers (the best way to go so you can try a little of everything)

Carnivale is great for an adults night out!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
160 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fun time, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was in town on business and met clients at Carnivale for dinner. It was a great overall experience. The atmosphere was upscale but not too pretentious. It was bright, colorful and a bit over the top which is fitting with the concept. And the service was spot on.

We enjoyed a selection of appetizers and all three of us ended up having the roasted pork shoulder for our entrees despite a wide selection of other intriguing options. Overall, the food was quite good. We also sampled from their wide selection of authentic drinks and after dinner enjoyed a bit of Port.

We went early and the place was not crowded or too noisy, which was perfect for our need to conduct some business over dinner. I understand the place livens up quite a bit, and that would be fun to experience next time in town when I don't need to conduct business with clients.

Well done overall, and well worth a try for business or pleasure.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brewski59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun Atmosphere, Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We enjoyed a fun, relaxing meal on a Sunday night! It was a little quiet later on a Sunday, but I can imagine it has a wild, fun atmosphere on a weekend night. It's bright, colorful and very lively inside. The service was great and the food delicious. We tried a variety of dishes and liked most of them ---some better than others, but none were bad. The food is a latin flare, but with some high-end tastes. Great for a large party of group. They were also kid-friendly, though we didn't look at a separate menu. Distance is slightly out of the main part of town, but a short cab ride. Worth a try during a visit to Chicago!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE Meal!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The appetizers were spectacular - dont remember the names of them all ( think our server chose all for us) but you have to try the appetizer that has Brisket on it was full before my meal came great atmosphere

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vann j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnivale also viewed

 

Been to Carnivale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing