We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No blues in the house!”

House of Blues Chicago
Ranked #6 of 557 Nightlife in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“No blues in the house!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Food was good, like all the other House of Blues restaurants, but they turned it into a sports bar for most of the evening. Not what I expected and the manager just said sorry but they were given us a feel for Chicago but we could stick around for a few hours if we wanted to hear the blues. I will not be back to this location!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa112110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    252
    92
    30
    22
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
166 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great food, great music...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Great american food. Great music (depending on the day and time). On Sundays a Gospel + Brunch combination which is amazing. Booking recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank andreleroychina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Lure, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gospel Brunch....good food, good singing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Went to the House of Blues Kirk Franklin Gospel Brunch during our visit to Chicago. All the breakfast food you could want (buffet lines at the back, meat carving station, waffle and pancakes on one side and an omelet station on the other!). They begin seating right at the designated time (10:30 in our case). You immediately go to get your food (omelet station took me a while to get thru - I suggest waiting until the music is about to start before going, not many people in line at that point). The music starts about 30 minutes after you are seated. The Gospel group was great...really enthusiastic and worked the crowd. My husband was approached because he "looked like a lively guy" to get up on stage with a handful of other people so he took the mic for a solo, it was great. The singers are at the exits when you leave to visit with if you'd like and a $10 cd is available for purchase - which my husband got one for free for participating on stage. :) Great experience!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank luvfootballcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Love The Blues”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great music, Great ribs my wife and I shared a large. The music was fantastic.
There was a fantastic band playing mainly guys that had been around for a long time and the experience showed. I wish found out the name of the band it was the 23rd April 13 we went.
The staff were fantastic and friendly great night.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very little to do with blues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Electronic pop music on the speakers before a pop concert... Best thing - supporting artist Jessica Rae. If it's blues you're after - Kingston Mines and B.L.U.E.S. are the answer. If a hard rock cafe with a difference is your thing, the house of blues won't disappoint you...

Helpful?
Thank luraplitmur
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed House of Blues Chicago also viewed

 

Been to House of Blues Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing