We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was unimpressive”
Review of Union League Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Union League Club
Ranked #125 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is a classic old club, complete with the weekdays dress code (no denim!). The meeting and dining rooms were exquisite but our bedroom was a bit on the not-updated side.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthew516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 173 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2012

A haven away from the snowy cold windy conditions. Hotel was lovely as was the bar, rooms breakfast area and gym, sauna fitness centre. Some useful hints: check the dress code, Business dress below the 10th floor and bar (no jeans) other than that a beautiful hotel and don't forget to check out the Monet hanging on the 2nd floor near the staircase

Room: clean tidy and with ensuite (shower)

Breakfast: A la Carte or buffet depending on your taste all options to me were just right

Location: right next to the Blue line (45 min via the train) 1 block walk from station 5 minuits or less. 2/3 blocks from lake Michigan avenue, 10 Min cab ride to night-life on rush/division

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

It isn't worth the membership fee. Very comfortable room and great breakfast. An older refined feel inside lobby and lounge areas. I would stay there again. Walking distance to shopping and restaurants but you can find better deals at surrounding hotels.

Nice place if you live local, are a member or a frequent visitor to Chicago but this isn't for one-time visitors.

Front desk person had no idea how the dvd player in the room worked with the television. He told me to just try different channels...what? Called him back when that didn't work and they had to send maintenance up. Unnecessary hassle.

Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evans_dynasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Great rooms and lounge area. Service fantastic and the location was excellent if you need to be downtown Chicago

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJ2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed at the Union League Club for a wedding and found the accommodations to be adequate.The room was a little small but nice. The rest of the hotel could use a little updating, although the ballroom for the wedding reception was the nicest I've ever been to and the reception was superb from start to finish. The bar/restaurant on the 4th floor had good food and was a good value. I didn't care for the service charge that was tacked on to the nightly rate and parking was very expensive, although that is probably standard for this area of the city. The hotel is in a great location. There is a strict dress code and I wish that the reservations clerk had mentioned it so that we could have been prepared for brunch the next day.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avery131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

good location, but not a great value for the money. Small room, but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garaba2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Others have made most of the points, so I won't belabor it... but when I walked in (wearing dress shirt, sweater, and khakis) at 9pm on a weeknight there was some sniffing that I wasn't dressed properly. Nothing wrong with this hotel, but nothing to blow me away. And the snobbishness is unnecessary. My room had a lovely view of another indistinguished building 30 feet away, which isn't the worst I've had, but was hoping for a better view given the building height.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank JeremyInFairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Buckingham Club
The Buckingham Club
#134 of 192 in Chicago
191 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#90 of 192 in Chicago
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 192 in Chicago
1,992 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union League Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union League Club

Address: 65 West Jackson Blvd., Chicago, IL 60604
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#82 Business Hotel in Chicago
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Union League Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union League Club Hotel Chicago
Union League Hotel
Union League Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing