We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Union League Club
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
JW Marriott Chicago(Chicago)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveler rating
87
55
24
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
55
24
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate clubathletic facilitiesthe loopthe financial districtgreat art collectionold world eleganceguest roomsathletic clubhave stayed here many timesexercise facilitydowntown chicagorooms are smallfourth floormeeting roomfree wifichicago art institutebusiness or pleasure
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 178 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Others have made most of the points, so I won't belabor it... but when I walked in (wearing dress shirt, sweater, and khakis) at 9pm on a weeknight there was some sniffing that I wasn't dressed properly. Nothing wrong with this hotel, but nothing to blow me away. And the snobbishness is unnecessary. My room had a lovely view of another indistinguished building 30 feet away, which isn't the worst I've had, but was hoping for a better view given the building height.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank JeremyInFairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Step into the Union League Club in Chicago and you are transported to the turn of the last century. One expects Louis Sullivan to step out wearing a fedora, with Frank Lloyd Wright at his elbow. Set in the middle of the midwest's capital city, the Club is a few blocks from the Chicago Board of Trade and next door to the famed Monadnock Building. Three short blocks away and you're on South Michigan, by the park and lakefront. More impressive than the setting, if possible, is the amazing collection of art and sculpture that the Club has assembled over the past century. What could have been left to gather dust is livened with tasteful modern art set amid classic works of famed American and European painters. The dining rooms are superb, the bars classic. One could do without the no jeans rule at breakfast but that is a small sacrifice for aristocratic indulgence.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street may sound picturesque but can be noisy if you plan to sleep late on a weekday.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Landmarkfinder A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Went to Chicago to attend a wedding event, and had the most plesant experience at the Union League Club in Chicago. The rooms were small but very comfortable and efficient. If you want more than a room, there are huge suites and the prices are very reasonable for a downtown location.

Can't say enough about the comfort of the beds and attention to detail. Some people might think the atmosphere stuff and formal, as jeans are not allowed and there are many rules that come with staying at this property. Great location - quick cab ride to Michigan Avenue and steps away from the financial district.

There is a fabulous business center with private offices, as well a dozens of computer stations. In addition, there is an extraordinary art collection, great restaurant, bar, athletic club and much more The food is wonder as well as the service. The concierge (James) goes above and beyond to be of assistance.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sneadNaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

The Union League Club is a private club that, in the style of the days gone by, offers sleeping rooms for their members and guests. The club is very luxurious with high ceilings and beautiful massive old furniture. It is located on Jackson between LaSalle and Dearborn, just steps away from the financial district. Although the address is on Jackson, the entrance is actually around the corner on Federal. There are lots of great restaurants nearby. As expected, the exercise facilities are marvelous and the staff is outstanding.

Having said all that, it is a private club and not a hotel. The rooms are good sized, very comfortable and fully equipped. The bath room was tiny but had a nice big stand up shower so it met my needs very well. The furniture and decorations are a bit old style but I found that to be part of the charm. There is excellent room service, same day laundry and dry cleaning and lighting fast (as fast as my office) free wifi. The room rate was about half of a business hotel in Chicago but, apparently, you have to be a member or the guest of a member to get a room (my client made the reservation for me). This is a business club and the dress code (no jeans) and surroundings would make it inappropriate for children and would probably not be a great choice for tourists.

The food is typical dinning club. Not real fancy but good. If you have a dietary restriction, this is not the place to eat. I'm on a big time low fat diet and pride myself on being able to find things to eat on any menu, but this place was a real challenge. The chefs are very unaccomodating on doing anything off menu or preparing anything is a special way (I asked that a dish be made with a minimum of oil and the chef told the server "no").

I can see where some people who prefer more modern surroundings might find this place too old fashion, but I found it a wonderful and unique experience and I would stay here again if offered the opportunity.

Room Tip: The club is the in heart of the loop and surrounded by tall buildings so there is not much of a view from any room. By talking to my colleagues, it appears that all rooms are about the same, so I think that run of the house is fine.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hewesema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

I stayed at the ULC for a business conference also held in the hotel, so it was obviously very convenient. If I hadn't been attending the conference, however, I'm not sure anything made this hotel particularly stand out from others in the Chicago Loop.

The Pros:
- Location in the "Loop," next door to Intelligentsia coffee shop and easy walking distance to all kinds of restaurants, shops, and Millennium Park.
- Overall nice decor, tasteful, and "old world" Chicago
- Great shower! Marble walk-in with fantastic water pressure.
- Amenities like free wifi, hairdryer, nice bath products

The Cons:
- The "luxury" aspect of the hotel is a bit overstated. The room looks nice on the surface but is not very well taken care of (ratty towels, stained/torn upholstery, etc).
- Maid service is terrible, at least on the 16th floor. Things like tissues and toilet paper not replaced.
- If you face W. Jackson Street there are no views. on account to the office building across the (narrow) street.

In short, if you're attending an event at the ULC the hotel is definitely worth a stay due to the convenience and overall amenities, but if you're simply looking for a nice hotel in the Loop I'd recommend going elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaieisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews