We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyric Opera of Chicago

Lyric Opera of Chicago
Ranked #57 of 631 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grand spectacle. The finest singers of our time. And immortal music performed by Lyric's internationally celebrated orchestra and chorus.
st. louis
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

First time to the Lyric. Sat in the first balcony. Was a ways away, but the acoustics were fanstastic. An amazing building and the performance (simon bocannegra), awesome.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank midwestern_guy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    54
    13
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glenview,IL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best opera house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I love this place, the opera selections are excellent each year and easily reach by public transportation... train, bus and L.
Main floor is my choice to beat the crowd after performance to catch the train.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank mjkglenview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Simon Boccanegro, was not "Simple Simon"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I saw Simon B. as a longtime subscriber,and I must say that while the singing was on par with other performances, it felt like a lullaby to my husband. I notice that there was only one intermission, but there should have been two, just so we could use the opportunity to have some type of stimulant,like coffee,or chocolate.

I was NOT enthralled by "Amelia"; she seemed to be a little sharp in her duets; I actually cringed while she sang.Maybe the Lyric Opera house required more power from her voice or better amplification.(The instruments seemed to overpower her voice). However,the performances by "Fiesco" and "Simon" and "Paolo" were superb! I felt Simon's despair when he discovered that his beloved was dead and his joy when he found his missing daughter,Amelia.

I was moved(or should I say "irritated") by the seatmates who felt the need to rattle candy paper, or applaud before the soloists were done.Needless to say, I have enjoyed countless other operas and will continue to attend.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PrOInfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Recommend not subscribing until you have tried it once. Acoustics and orchestra way off. And be prepared for the 'regulars'. They are very aggressive and not all that friendly. Just stay out of their way!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank InLoveWithChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I am a subscriber and I love it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I go see 4 or 5 operas/concerts each season, and I really enjoy it. The first season I got seats in the upper balcony, not the best spot and a HIKE up the stairs. This year I'm in the dress circle. Should be better.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sheralyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyric Opera of Chicago also viewed

 

Been to Lyric Opera of Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing