We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make time for this one!”
Review of Court Theater

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Court Theater
Ranked #153 of 647 things to do in Chicago
Attraction details
Reviewed February 17, 2017

I'm not a professional theater-goer, but I love this one. Varied, interesting productions that are beautifully staged. Very affordable. The staff are great and seem to love being there. Each show has one performance that is followed by discussion with the people involved with the production. I've been to about eight plays there in the past six years. Among my favorites, 'Proof', 'Satchmo' and 'Blues for An Alabama Sky'.
Tall and leggy people, beware of tight seating (but you know what to do!). The seats are kind of hard also.
There are many restaurants in the neighborhood. The Court Theater offers dinner and a show sometimes. I haven't done that, but the restaurants with whom they pair are nice. Did I mention free indoor parking? I don't get that downtown!

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank lauralei99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

4 - 8 of 26 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2016

Wonderful theater space, free parking, amazing cast. I'm not a fan of physical comedy, but my companion loved the show. Very impressed that the cast could act, sing and play musical instruments

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2016

consistently great productions. just saw Long Day's Journey Into Night which was superb. small theater with excellent sight lines. highly recomended

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2016 via mobile

Court is located in the Hyde Park area, a neighborhood worthy of exploring for a number of reasons (museums, book shops, restaurants, Obama history). Court ,when in session, offers terrific productions of classic theater, not always meaning traditionally accepted definitions of "classic". A car is handy to get there.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank alan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2016 via mobile

The Court Theatre is located in Chicago's Hyde Park community (University of Chicago). I've seen numerous productions at the Theatre. The Midwest Premiere of Satchmo at the Waldorf by Terry Teachout was outstanding. Featuring Barry Shabaka Henley (Ali, Devil in a Blue Dress, Collateral, among other credits) as Louis "Satchmo" Armstrong was remarkable. Henley delivers an exceptional performance weaving the complex story of Mr. Armstrong. His life, legacy and his music. Henley gives insight into his challenging relationships both personal and professional as well as his deep Chicago roots. The Court Theater's seating is intimate and there are no bad seats. Kudos to Henley, Teachout and director, Charles Newell.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Biglifenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Court Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing