We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently the best classic theater in Chicago”
Review of Court Theater

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Court Theater
Ranked #153 of 647 things to do in Chicago
Attraction details
Reviewed March 17, 2016 via mobile

Court is located in the Hyde Park area, a neighborhood worthy of exploring for a number of reasons (museums, book shops, restaurants, Obama history). Court ,when in session, offers terrific productions of classic theater, not always meaning traditionally accepted definitions of "classic". A car is handy to get there.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank alan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

7 - 11 of 26 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2016 via mobile

The Court Theatre is located in Chicago's Hyde Park community (University of Chicago). I've seen numerous productions at the Theatre. The Midwest Premiere of Satchmo at the Waldorf by Terry Teachout was outstanding. Featuring Barry Shabaka Henley (Ali, Devil in a Blue Dress, Collateral, among other credits) as Louis "Satchmo" Armstrong was remarkable. Henley delivers an exceptional performance weaving the complex story of Mr. Armstrong. His life, legacy and his music. Henley gives insight into his challenging relationships both personal and professional as well as his deep Chicago roots. The Court Theater's seating is intimate and there are no bad seats. Kudos to Henley, Teachout and director, Charles Newell.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Biglifenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2015

As I am a fan of August Wilson, I was excited to see Gem of the Ocean at Court Theatre. It was excellent!
This was my 2nd visit to Court for a Wilson play (Jitney 2012). Have also seen Wilson's plays in Washington DC (Radio Golf 2009), NYC (Fences 2010) & Tucson (Jitney 2006 & Ma Rainey's Black Bottom 2010).
Court Theatre is a beautiful space located on the University of Chicago campus on Chicago's south side Hyde Park neighborhood in their 61st season. The quality of all aspects of the production is 1st rate, especially with the visual lighting effects on the stage's rear wall and floor. In telling Wilson's tale of freedom & adventure set in 1904 Pittsburgh along with his view of spiritual rebirth the entire cast pulls on our souls & hearts to be more than spectators and become engaged in human events. Who among us will be the next person up to carry the staff. I believe this is just the way Wilson wanted Gem presented. Job well done Court Theatre! Looking forward to seeing another Wilson play at your fine facility.
Continued RIP Mr. Wilson.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank SMLeek69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2015

We stayed downtown (The Thompson) and made the trip to the Court Theater on the Univ. of Chicago campus for a Sunday matinee. Very glad we did. It's a small, intimate theater, no bad seats, and the production - "The Good Book" - was great.
They offer a unique service: Give them your name at the box-office and they'll have a taxi waiting when you leave the theater. It's about 20 minutes to Hyde Park. Next time we're in Chicago, we'll do it again.

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank zadkine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2014

There are few theaters as intimate and powerful as the Court Theater on the University of Chicago campus. There are no bad seats. The low slop design of the audience seating provides everyone with a clear view and good sound from the stage. I saw Iphigenia in Aulis, on of three plays by Euripides that the Court will offer as a trilogy over the next year. The play was translated by Nicholas Rudall and directed by Charles Newell. They preserved the urgency in Agamemnon's dilemma over his promise to sacrifice his virgin daughter to Artemis so that the Greek army could sail to Troy and free compromised Helen. The production was simple, elegant and powerful. Use of language and intent of the play married completely. All of the cast were convincing in their roles. The stage direction was excellent. The use of minimal props that nonetheless evoked ancient Greece was masterful. This theater is hard to access, but the quality of the production is worth the effort. I had a bad bistro sandwich at the art museum next store beforehand, but I recommend you stop in Hyde Park and eat elsewhere.

Date of experience: December 2014
Thank KimRChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Court Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing