We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great theater & Hyde Park too”
Review of Court Theater

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Court Theater
Ranked #153 of 647 things to do in Chicago
Attraction details
Reviewed April 1, 2015

We stayed downtown (The Thompson) and made the trip to the Court Theater on the Univ. of Chicago campus for a Sunday matinee. Very glad we did. It's a small, intimate theater, no bad seats, and the production - "The Good Book" - was great.
They offer a unique service: Give them your name at the box-office and they'll have a taxi waiting when you leave the theater. It's about 20 minutes to Hyde Park. Next time we're in Chicago, we'll do it again.

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank zadkine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

10 - 14 of 26 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2014

There are few theaters as intimate and powerful as the Court Theater on the University of Chicago campus. There are no bad seats. The low slop design of the audience seating provides everyone with a clear view and good sound from the stage. I saw Iphigenia in Aulis, on of three plays by Euripides that the Court will offer as a trilogy over the next year. The play was translated by Nicholas Rudall and directed by Charles Newell. They preserved the urgency in Agamemnon's dilemma over his promise to sacrifice his virgin daughter to Artemis so that the Greek army could sail to Troy and free compromised Helen. The production was simple, elegant and powerful. Use of language and intent of the play married completely. All of the cast were convincing in their roles. The stage direction was excellent. The use of minimal props that nonetheless evoked ancient Greece was masterful. This theater is hard to access, but the quality of the production is worth the effort. I had a bad bistro sandwich at the art museum next store beforehand, but I recommend you stop in Hyde Park and eat elsewhere.

Date of experience: December 2014
Thank KimRChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have seen a couple of musicals here including folk opera Porgy and Bess. In each case I thought the performances were excellent. Located on U of Chicago campus it may be off the beaten path for those staying in the Loop who are close to the main theater district, but I think the trip there was definitely worth it.

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank Clemente71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

The Court Theater was a highlight of living in the Hyde Park neighborhood while in graduate school thirty years ago. I have gone back through the years and went again last night to see M. Butterfly. The cast was superb and the intimacy of the theater always a delight. The University of Chicago gives an academic vibe and the audience is a good mix of older (what theater isn't mostly older these dats) and students. It is rather a hidden gem on the south side but well worth the trip.

Date of experience: May 2014
Thank jdkegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I have been meaning to visit the Court Theater in Hyde Park for years, and regret that I didn't go sooner. The productions are always highly rated, and the venue is a nice size. This show was "Seven Guitars" by August Wilson. The acting and direction were top-notch. There's not a bad seat in the house. HOTTIX were available, so I saved some $$ - always appealing to me. A nearby restaurant for dining before the show is The Nile, just a few blocks down 55th Street, which offers Middle Eastern fare. And - IMPORTANT - there is a University parking garage adjacent to the Theater, which is free on weekends and evenings. Don't wait like I did - Court Theater does not disappoint!

Date of experience: February 2014
1  Thank BJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Court Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing