We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Chicago Crime and Mob Bus Tour
2,289

Book in advance
from
$46.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Holy Name Cathedral
from $46.00
More Info
from $49.50
More Info
from $52.00
More Info
from $880.00
More Info
Reviews (1,116)
Filter reviews
1,116 results
Traveler rating
793
273
43
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
793
273
43
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday mass attending mass stained glass the magnificent mile catholic worship architecture beauty stone
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 1,116 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2017

AttendedSunday Mass. The Liturgy is formal, aesthetically pleasing, and engaging of the congregation, particularly in this large space. The music added to the worship service.The homilist was outstanding -- 'cream' for one is usually fed only "skim milk".

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 11, 2017

Such a great find in the heart of Chicago. We happened to walk past early one Sunday morning and entered to see the amazing architecture and that ceiling. Makes you want to weep. A must see in my book.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank TBSoCal71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

Gangster Hymie Weiss was shot dead in front of this Cathedral back in the day. The inside is beautiful and you are free to take a peak. Bathrooms are downstairs if you wanna take a leak while you peak.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank fernwehfervor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

The Gothic Architecture is beautiful and above the Sanctuary hangs the Red Hats of the deceased Cardinals. The Music is outstanding! The Liturgy is very prayerful...usually with a priest whose homilies touch your heart.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Rascal3741
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

Went to a service on Sunday and was inspired by the beauty that surrounds. The ceiling area is a rich dark wooden dome like structure and the walls are stone with carved work, there is an organ as well. Certainly worth the visit, especially if you have not ever visited a cathedral.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank 24lorraineS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews