We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, lovely place”

Holy Name Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.95*
and up
Chicago Crime and Mob Tour
Ranked #19 of 640 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
115 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Warm, lovely place”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I belong to a church in my neighborhood, but I go to mass here a few times a year because it's a lovely place rich in history. Old St. Pat's is nice too.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tigger1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    626
    208
    37
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

So Beautiful - A must see - A historic landsite - You feel refreshed - Relaxing and very cool - See the Cardinal while you are there

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BurgerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful and they sell Chicago Shares”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Beautiful and peaceful house of God. The parish office sells Chicago Shares which are small tickets which one buys for a dollar a piece and can be given to those less fortunate souls one often sees asking for assistance on the street. Also provided to hand out are locations where the 'shares' can be redeemed for food. An alternative to those wishing to help out their fellow man.
"There but for the grace of God......"

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank traveling9169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“You will enjoy visiting this cathedral”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I attend many churches when I travel. This cathedral is one of the most beautiful I have seen. I enjoy the daily Mass at 12:10. You feel very inspired in this church. There are brochures available detailing all of the church decor and rubrics. It is a short 2 block walk west of the Water Tower.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JLGerardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Holy Name Cathedral is located in the heart of the Magnificent Mile. Right after mass, you can head out and shop and dine just a few blocks away!

The architecture of this Cathedral is simply amazing. I wish newer cathedrals are so intricately constructed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harryho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holy Name Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing