We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So pretty!”

Holy Name Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.95*
and up
Chicago Crime and Mob Tour
Ranked #20 of 635 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“So pretty!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stopped in here on Palm Sunday. The masses were done for the day so it was pretty empty inside. The stained glass windows are beautiful as is the wood vaulted ceiling and the marble pillars. The huge organ on the balcony is amazing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kids04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    610
    200
    37
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago Il
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We just wanted to pop in and see the Cathedral. We were welcomed in, took a few minutes then left. We threw a few dollars in the donation box for the poor.....

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank larrymartin107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgerton, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

So glad that we took time to stop here and go in and sit to enjoy the beauty and history of the cathedral. It is simply gorgeous! The staff were preparing for Palm Sunday and we just sat in a pew and took in the beauty. A must see!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jlh1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
140 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Warm and reverential gathering”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Very nice stained glass work. Warm, reverential gathering for mass and some great singing. Very popular for all family occasion and marriage

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank srishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very peaceful and quiet with the Lord”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Its a place right at State and Chicago. Go inside and talk to our Lord and tell him everything. All your worries and say to him, Jesus I trust in you. You will find peace with him.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackson1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holy Name Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Holy Name Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing