We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a peaceful oasis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garfield Park Conservatory

Garfield Park Conservatory
Ranked #22 of 631 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always a peaceful oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

I've been going here for 30 years. I think less people go here then could/should because it's in the heart of the Black community. (Less white people go that is). It's a gem. They are rebuilding after the hail, and I can tell they take such good care of the plants. No holiday show, but oh well, that will return.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank melindalongford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    120
    31
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure I Chicago”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I visited the Garfield Park Conservatory for the first time while in Chicago last week. Loved it all. It was a cold snowy day outside but it was warm and tropical inside. The numerous manicured gardens were a great way to spend an afternoon. Don't forget to bring your camera to this beautiful place. Best of all - FREE admission.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraM1551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“it's ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Is pretty, but I wouldn't go there again is a little far from down town and its like being in a "tropical forest" so if you are visiting from a warm climate or a tropical country it doesn't have anything for you.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank priscila687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palestine, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Spot out of the Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was one of my favorite places. I love plants and there were lots of them inside while there was snow on the ground outside. We rode the El out to Garfield and back into Chicago. This is a great place for singles, couples, or families to go and it's FREE. They only ask for a donation. Great place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful break from downtown on a winter day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

The Conservatory was recommended to us by a friend years ago, we finally visited last week. My teen sons really enjoyed this place also. It is not as far from downtown as it looked to me on the map. The el stop is right next door, though we drove. Parking is right there and is free along with the entrance. There were some young kids doing a scavenger hunt that the front desk provided, they were having fun, there is also a children's garden with a slide and some things to climb on. Don't miss the beautiful mosaic fountain.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kbiesmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garfield Park Conservatory also viewed

 

Been to Garfield Park Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing