We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garfield Park Conservatory

Garfield Park Conservatory
Ranked #22 of 631 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Ocean Park
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

A warm beautiful place that the staff and volunteers are more than happy to answer questions and tell you all about the plants.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maverick12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    121
    31
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely conservatory”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

This was our first time to the Garfield Park Conservatory. It was very interesting and had such a wide array of plants and flowers. And admission was free!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 3hapitravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My Favorite Chicago Attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

When the temperature dips in Chicago and the wind starts blowing, the Garfield Park Conservatory is the place to keep you sane. It's warm, filled with colorful plants, and so relaxing to stroll around in. The desert room is always fun, but my favorite place is the large indoor lake with its hidden nooks and benches. And the greatest thing about the Conservatory is that its free!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lots of changes - still great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I last visited the conservatory in 2012. I thought it was great then. As the weather gets colder I wanted to head back over. It was just as rewarding a visit as last time.

The park district is clearing out the diseased ash trees from the parkway. It was sad to see - but at the same time the views of the conservatory were really opened up from the train. Great to see the haystack form.

I was surprised with how much the plantings had changed. This was especially true in the palm, fern, and desert houses.

The fern room seemed to have many more different types of ferns. Still a pit of lush green-ness. I really like the benches in here, it was a perfect place to enjoy a cool drink (gift shop now has coke products !) Looks like the temporary roof (from the hail storm) is still in place here. Guess it's being replaced next year. On the tour, the guide played the song that inspired the waterfall. It was really magical.

In the Palm house the new double coconut palm was sprouting. The screw pine that I loved isn't there anymore but there seemed to be many new palms.

In the desert house I was surprised at how lean it was. I learned that they cleared out a large number of the beds because of pending roof repairs - however, it wasn't done this year. Will be next. Nonetheless, I still really enjoy this space.

I bought a lunch in the shop and enjoyed it outside on the bluestone terrace.

still highly recommended and worth the suggested donation.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not what you would expect to see here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

A really nice large conservatory with a varied selection of plants. Cheap to get in and spent an hour or so looking around. Very nice.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyGoHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garfield Park Conservatory also viewed

 

Been to Garfield Park Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing