We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, spacious, great for kids”

Garfield Park Conservatory
Ranked #22 of 635 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, spacious, great for kids”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We love the Garfield Park Conservatory! My son is a little fixated on the 2-story slide right now, but there is much to see and enjoy. In addition to the many indoor plant rooms, there are lovely gardens and a prairie out the building to the west. As a gardener and plant lover, I am constantly inspired by the wonderful plant specimens and the combinations in the gardens. It is a wonderful place to soak up some nature - and sun, humidity, and oxygen - any time of year.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hawk3ye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    124
    31
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
River Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
253 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful plants and flowers all year round”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just off of Lake Street, this is a treasure that is under visited. The flowers and plants here are as good as you will see any where in the US. It is larger than the Lincoln Park Conservatory, but just a little out of the way on the west side. Take the time to visit, you will like it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Greenery at its best”
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Googled free things to do in Chicago. Went on a Friday morning, very few people there. The observatory is beautiful. All kinds of different plants. So glad we checked it out. Yes it is located in a poorer neighborhood, but never felt unsafe.

Helpful?
Thank ajlangford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A surprising gem!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I hadn't heard of this place in my previous visits to Chicago. On a whim, we took the L out there and it was such an interesting place! I had never imagined a place like this in a city the size of Chicago, but it does seem to have been there for a long time. It was a lot bigger (there are 4 or 5 large greenhouses, I think) and there is no fee. If you have time and are looking for something a little different, this is for you!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alliejay76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Garfield Park Conservatory with greatgranddaughter and great neice”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We thoroughly as we always do, enjoyed the conservatory. We took our greatgranddaughter and great neice on or about September 02, 2012 or September 09, 2012. They had the Harvest Days, Hay Ride and Doll making activities going on. The kids made dolls from corn husks, rode on the hay ride and went into the interactive bus to "play" cook and interact with faux farm animals, tools, kitchen tools, etc. The plants as always, are very interesing. Also there is a body of water at the park in the conservatory, don't know what the name of it is, but it is a lagoon, that I think is charming. The conservatory also had small little pockets of ponds inside that house exotic fish and turtles. There were tasting of certain kinds of sprouts and beans and the kids were shown how to plant swiss chard and other plants, which my husband and I keep at our house to water for them and show them how they have grown. Nice place.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank sonja m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garfield Park Conservatory also viewed

 

Been to Garfield Park Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing