We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a fun place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 22 Chicago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I would highly recommend this unique place. Each room, with its furniture and fixtures, is different (i.e. my bathroom had double shower heads on either end of the soaking tub). There are also interesting collections of art and objects to look at all over the house.

The owner and staff are very helpful, know the area well, and go out of their way to help you find places and feel comfortable. It is easy to print tickets and maps that you might need from their computer. There is a notebook in each room with listings and descriptions of the services, amenities and restaurants in the area (organized by the main, nearby streets). Everything is very well organized, and check-in and check-out are quick. Ray and staff even helped with the luggage and the laundry, keeping things moving at all times.

The cooked to order breakfasts are excellent. There is something different each morning, as well as a standard menu, including fresh fruit and fresh-squeezed orange juice. One can sit in the sunny, well equipped and decorated kitchen where all the action is, or in the dining room. They even place the newspaper on the table every day.

The area seemed very safe for parking, even though I used the garage (which came with use of the garage door opener). Ray volunteered to drive my car around to the front when I checked out. There are buses on the major streets surrounding the neighborhood, that run every ten to twenty-five minutes, that can be tracked using a smartphone (worthwhile to spend the time figuring out because parking in Chicago is very expensive, and driving can be daunting), so that you know exactly how long you have to wait for the next bus. Bring change because the buses are great. The Red and Blue lines are the el lines that serve the general area. It is fairly easy to take a bus on Fullerton to the Blue line el, which goes within walking distance of Navy Pier as well as into downtown.

We also walked around the immediate neighborhood, which has tree lined streets, attractive brick residences, a large church, and schools. The residential setting gives one an opportunity to experience Chicago outside of the more typical tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visiting_My_Kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
There are newer reviews for Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 250 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

Ray’s is a great B&B. It is located in the quaint Bucktown suburb in northwest Chicago. It is fun to just causally stroll through the neighborhood. It is easy to access from I-94. Downtown Chicago is only 10 minutes away by train from a station about 8 blocks away. There is free street parking. The service by Sarah and her staff was excellent. All the staff was very friendly. You actually can order an excellent hardy breakfast from a menu or have the tasty special of the morning. Snacks are always available during the day. The house is very eclectic. Ray has a collection of art pieces that are interesting and fun to view. The rooms are well furnished and comfortable. My wife and I would definitely stay at Ray’s again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

So happy that we stayed at Ray's! Ray and his staff couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. They made us feel right at home. The B&B is in a great location - lots to do but also close to downtown. Wish we could've stayed longer!

Room Tip: Stayed in the Cardinal Room. Super quiet. Great deal. Bathroom across the hall wasn't a problem...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilovemaps247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

In a quiet, leafy but happening suburb of Chicago there are plenty of places on the doorstep for eating and drinking (Piece Brewery and The Map Room for starters!). Ray's eclectic B&B is a mix of top-quality B&B with student casualness (and we are 20+ years past our student days). Nothing is too much bother for Ray or his young, friendly staff. Breakfast could last all day as everyone sits round chatting and sharing experiences – and it's a breakfast that will set you up for the day, freshly cooked to order. Close to the El for trips Downtown, and many buses for tips to Wicker Park and the like; anything needing a car can be arranged with Ray who will give you a lift if time permits. Can't recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I were in Chicago for a wedding and we were considering a priceline booked hotel but were really pleased to find the reasonably priced Cardinal room at Ray's. I was a little concerned about the detached bathroom because I am pregnant and get up at all hours of the night, but, as others have mentioned in their reviews, it was not a big deal.

You know how at hotels, you might stand at the front desk for a few minutes before someone acknowledges you? Or you pick up the phone and wait and wait and wait until someone picks up and then you have to wait some more for someone to bring you extra towels or whatever you requested?

This is non-existant at Ray's. Everyone there will cheerfully drop whatever they are doing to help you out. There was a problem with our bed. Ray was at his desk doing something and he popped up and fixed the problem. I asked a woman who was in the middle of cleaning rooms and laundering sheets where I could find more toilet paper. She's like oh let me get it for you. Ray saw me about to do laundry and he says let me show you the machines and soap and stuff. Like my title says, it is like staying at an awesome and thoughtful friend's house.

Room Tip: The wing/floor where the Cardinal Room is located has 2 other rooms nearby. I know there were other...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spec80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Ray's is a quaint, out of the way B & B in Bucktown. Easy walking distance to El and bus. Everyone made us feel welcome and late check ins were no big deal. Sunny couches to relax and read, great food and coffee-an excellent deal.

Room Tip: The Cardinal Room was quiet. And the private bathroom across the hall was no big deal.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanber2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I really don't. I don't like going places where I don't know anyone or feel welcome. Which is why I love Ray's, & have stayed twice & would stay again anytime. The moment you walk in, you're family. Ray, Sarah & staff can't do enough for you--if you need a couple of extra towels, you don't get a smirk, you get "sure!" Want to know a closeby middle-east restaurant? Just ask.

The rooms are cozy (if a little unorthodox), the common areas are welcoming & interesting, and as you've read the breakfasts are beyond belief. Want a little more bacon? An extra egg? Just ask.

Ray's is located in north central Chicago just a couple of blocks from Damen avenue. They have a garage which can store 2 cars if you don't want to leave your car on the (pretty safe & quiet) street.

Room Tip: Cats vs non-cats areas.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank milesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Town
The Robey
The Robey
#55 of 191 in Chicago
270 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#8 of 191 in Chicago
2,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Town
Urban Holiday Lofts
Urban Holiday Lofts
#4 of 58 in Chicago
1,007 reviews
Lincoln Park
Villa D'Citta
Villa D'Citta
#2 of 22 in Chicago
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2144 N Leavitt St, Chicago, IL 60647-3274
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Northwest Side , Wicker Park / Bucktown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range: $153 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique B&B in Chicago's Bucktown neighborhood, Ray's welcomes groups and individuals in town for work or play. Modeled after small European hotels and spas, the B&B has eleven bedrooms with private baths, high speed internet (WIFI and in each room as well as community areas including a steam room, sauna, HDTV and a kitchen, and free unrestricted street parking. Breakfast is cooked-to-order when you want it. This is not your parents' bed & breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ray`s Bucktown Hotel Chicago
Ray`s Bucktown b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing