We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like staying at an awesome friend's house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 22 Chicago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Like staying at an awesome friend's house”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I were in Chicago for a wedding and we were considering a priceline booked hotel but were really pleased to find the reasonably priced Cardinal room at Ray's. I was a little concerned about the detached bathroom because I am pregnant and get up at all hours of the night, but, as others have mentioned in their reviews, it was not a big deal.

You know how at hotels, you might stand at the front desk for a few minutes before someone acknowledges you? Or you pick up the phone and wait and wait and wait until someone picks up and then you have to wait some more for someone to bring you extra towels or whatever you requested?

This is non-existant at Ray's. Everyone there will cheerfully drop whatever they are doing to help you out. There was a problem with our bed. Ray was at his desk doing something and he popped up and fixed the problem. I asked a woman who was in the middle of cleaning rooms and laundering sheets where I could find more toilet paper. She's like oh let me get it for you. Ray saw me about to do laundry and he says let me show you the machines and soap and stuff. Like my title says, it is like staying at an awesome and thoughtful friend's house.

Room Tip: The wing/floor where the Cardinal Room is located has 2 other rooms nearby. I know there were other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spec80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    31
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
61
97
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Ray's is a quaint, out of the way B & B in Bucktown. Easy walking distance to El and bus. Everyone made us feel welcome and late check ins were no big deal. Sunny couches to relax and read, great food and coffee-an excellent deal.

Room Tip: The Cardinal Room was quiet. And the private bathroom across the hall was no big deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanber2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I really don't. I don't like going places where I don't know anyone or feel welcome. Which is why I love Ray's, & have stayed twice & would stay again anytime. The moment you walk in, you're family. Ray, Sarah & staff can't do enough for you--if you need a couple of extra towels, you don't get a smirk, you get "sure!" Want to know a closeby middle-east restaurant? Just ask.

The rooms are cozy (if a little unorthodox), the common areas are welcoming & interesting, and as you've read the breakfasts are beyond belief. Want a little more bacon? An extra egg? Just ask.

Ray's is located in north central Chicago just a couple of blocks from Damen avenue. They have a garage which can store 2 cars if you don't want to leave your car on the (pretty safe & quiet) street.

Room Tip: Cats vs non-cats areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOWA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Spent a couple of night's here with my daughter over her spring break - hotels downtown were 350-400 dollars per night so we branched outside for a change. This is in a great location in Bucktown/Wicker Park cloase to restaurants and shops (check out Quimby's bookstore). Train and restaurants are within walking distance. There is free parking (on street or in garage), and an amazing cooked to order breakfast (omlettes, pancakes, french toast, and all the fixings). My daughter had Nutella-banana stuffed French toast one day. There was coffee and tea available, along with bottled water all day if you wanted it.

The staff (which included Ray) were friendly and accomodating. The room was ready when we arrived in the early afternoon, the beds comfotable, and the bathroom complete with good towels and a heated tile floor.

We will definitely return on our next trip to Chicago-beats the large, impersonal, expensive downtown hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAC-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I went for a work trip, but will return for pleasure. Twice our taxi didn't show us, so Ray gave 4 of us a ride to our work meeting. Wow! How nice was that? Plus the breakfast was cooked to order from a large menu. I had the fluffiest frittata I've ever eaten. Generous portions, amenities, and people. Wish I had had more time to spend at Ray's, and less time working. Next trip I'll go for fun, use Ray's sauna and steam shower, enjoy more of the architecture and restaurants of the Bucktown neighborhood, and make Ray's my center for loving Chicago!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Woodpecker room. Cozy -- perfect for one person. Lovely bathtub, too. The bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaklavaSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Comfy beds, all the luxuries of home, awesome food (vegan, too), great location. This is our first choice when we go back to Chicago. My lady loved it too. So awesome that we sometimes just skipped an activity on our trip to hang out in our room and relax.

Room Tip: Book way (as in, several months) in advance. Warn them of dietary preferences ahead of time and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Live in the 'burbs, had to get somewhere really early and was afraid bad weather would make me late. Didn't want to stay in the Loop and was concerned about a clean and quiet place. At the last minute I called Ray and he set me up with the Woodpecker room. I got in late but had directions on how to get in and found an envelope with more information waiting for me. The room was charming, CLEAN and welcoming. Couldn't hear a sound from anyone else and loved the toasty bathroom floor and the big comfy bed. Modern enough for comfort but unique and homey for charm. Had to leave too early to meet my host or enjoy the breakfast but did get a send off from Maggy the Cat. Totally enjoyed my brief stay and plan on trying for another, lengthier one. As advertised or better!

Room Tip: Woodpecker was small but for one person, perfect. Or two people who weren't planning on sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Neris77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_renaissance_man, Manager at Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We regret that Maggie was the only one you got to meet, our humans are much better conversationalists. Glad you enjoyed your room, the heated bathroom floors are always a nice surprise in the winter. Come back soon so we can give you the full experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Lakeview
BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
West Town
The Robey
The Robey
#93 of 187 in Chicago
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Villa D'Citta
Villa D'Citta
#1 of 22 in Chicago
346 reviews
West Town
Wicker Park Inn
Wicker Park Inn
#6 of 22 in Chicago
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2144 N Leavitt, Chicago, IL 60647
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Northwest Side , Wicker Park / Bucktown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique B&B in Chicago's Bucktown neighborhood, Ray's welcomes groups and individuals in town for work or play. Modeled after small European hotels and spas, the B&B has eleven bedrooms with private baths, high speed internet (WIFI and in each room as well as community areas including a steam room, sauna, HDTV and a kitchen, and free unrestricted street parking. Breakfast is cooked-to-order when you want it. This is not your parents' bed & breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ray`s Bucktown Hotel Chicago
Ray`s Bucktown b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing