We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Graet urban BNB” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 22 Chicago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Graet urban BNB”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is pretty cool bnb - and different from what most people think a bnb is. We had the davinci room upstairs. Everything was clean and neat. The hostesses seemed well informed. The breakfasts were very tasty. The one thing i didn't like was that the yard was totally overgrown so we couldn't sit out in the yard to talk. Otherwise a good stay!

Room Tip: Check out the house floor plan so you know which level your room is on. The lower level are "g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebrisita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    31
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
60
96
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palencia, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Ray's is quite big for being a B&B, but it has the intimate feeling that you can only get in this kind of places. The owners were very helpful, and breakfast was great. It also has some good details that you don't find in a hotel. It's definitely better than staying in a big hotel downtown; public transport doesn't take that much time and you get to know a different Chicago.

Concerning the drawbacks: the room was cold (there was no individual air conditioning controller, just one for the two rooms of the floor) and also a bit noisy (A/C, laundry, steps). It is not a luxurious place if you are looking for it. It is specially interesting for small groups, since a lot of their rooms can accommodate more than two people. It is pricey, but accommodation is very expensive in Chicago, so I guess it is reasonably priced for the city. For the money it costs I think a daily room cleaning service would be a nice improvement.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAUTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_renaissance_man, Owner at Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
I would like to thank the guest for the kind words about our establishment. It was nice that they used the plural on owner (there is just me), and I am proud of the fact that my staff is so conscientious that they are mistaken for owners.

I would also like to address the drawbacks they brought up in their review. Hopefully everyone that comes to a Bed & Breakfast understands that most Bed & Breakfast owners will bend over backwards to take care of any issue if you simply bring it to our attention. We do offer daily room cleaning if you ask (and we point that out on the front page of our guest services book we put on the bed at check-in). Also listed on the front page is how to control the temperature in your room.

The B&B is my private home, and individual thermostats are not an option for a residential building, so I pride myself with the fact that I have put in 4 separate heating / A/C units so very few rooms have to share a thermostat (and then simply opening/closing vents to tweak your temperature) . Unlike downtown hotels, one can simply open a window in any room for fresh air!

Please keep in mind when comparing rates, our already reasonable rates include a full cooked-to-order breakfast, free parking ($35 - $60 per night downtown), free bottled water, coffee & tea and use of our sauna & steam room. But most importantly, we have a staff that will do anything with-in our means to make your stay enjoyable, comfortable and memorable. So much so that they are often mistaken as owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Ray's has the benefits of both a B&B and a hotel--an ideal combination. Homey environment while being well-cared for by the friendly, gracious staff. Plus extra amenities you won't find even at a hotel (I especially appreciated the endless supply of bottled water). You can't comment on Ray's without saying something about the breakfasts. My daughter's response when the plate was placed before her: "I feel like breaking into song." That pretty much sums it up! Wide variety, as much or little as you like, cooked to perfection. It's an easy walk to the "El." Close enough to thriving and eclectic neighborhoods without being in the middle of the chaos. The neighborhood and the B&B itself felt very safe. An amazing find we hope to revisit. A note to those who are temperature sensitive: the first-floor rooms along one hall are all on one thermostat in the hallway that any guest may change. We were mostly able to control the temp in our room by adjusting the vent, but it wasn't an exact science.

Room Tip: We stayed in the only room that does not have an attached bath--the Cardinal Room. Having the bath d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoMama2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Visiting our son in the Linoln Park area we found Ray's on trip advisor. What a terrific find. The people running the place are so nice and accommodating. The breakfasts were delicious. The Chicadee room was fine. Plenty of free street parking in the nearby area. We could not stay for breakfast on our last day and the ladies packed us a bag of goodies to take with us. We will be sure to keep Ray's in mind on any future visits to Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bdjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stumbled on to Rays while looking for a place to stay near our son's new apartment in Bucktown. What a great find! This isn't your usual B & B. Not Victorian or stuff. Eclectic decor and modern amenities. We stayed in the Flamingo room. It is on the smaller size, but the first floor location is great and it had everything we needed. Comfy bed. Very nice bathroom and lots of quiet and privacy. Breakfast is great. You can start with fresh fruit and breads with your coffee while waiting for your cooked to order breakfast is prepared. Delicious omlets. Can't wait to try the french toast next time!
The environment is very friendly and welcoming. There are several sitting areas to relax, and Ray's collections are so much fun! There is something interesting to look at everywhere!
And lastly, I must comment on Ray's graciousness. We were very impressed with the thorough and informative guest information book they provide. When I commented that my son could use one of those,Ray made a copy of it for us......all 55 pages! Now, that's great guest service.
Our only concern is that Ray's is a popular place, and we hope we'll be able to get reservations whenever we come to visit our son in Bucktown. We were able to get a one night reservation because we were staying mid week. Not sure if we'll be as lucky for last minute weekend visits, but we're sure going to try!
Thanks Ray and staff!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Ray Reiss is one of the most accommodating, unassuming and lovely hosts I've ever encountered. His B&B provided a true refuge for our family as our Chicago home was being renovated. For close to a month, Ray and his wonderful team made us feel right at home - which isn't easy when you've got small children. The kids had a blast playing games (provided) reading maps (covering walls) and viewing all the wonderful collectibles displayed. We all loved ordering a full breakfast off the menu which was always delicious and hearty. I felt great knowing the kids were happy, comfortable, safe and well fed. We were even able to bring our own food in and cook meals to save money. The rooms are comfy, large and well appointed. The kids want to know when we can go back for vacation. What a wonderful experience! Additional bonuses were meeting interesting guests from all over the world, ample street parking, great kids' park nearby and location in the heart of one of the city's greatest neighborhoods. Thanks Ray for making what could have been an exhausting, difficult time, a real treat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chi-townsentiments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Staying at Ray's is like being a welcomed guest in a friend's house. The location is great (lots of restaurants, bars, and the Blue Line are within easy walking distance), the parking is free, the staff couldn't be nicer or more helpful, the breakfasts are delicious, and the accommodations are comfortable and clean. This was our first time staying at Ray's, but it certainly won't be our last!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#68 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Lakeview
BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Villa D'Citta
Villa D'Citta
#2 of 22 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
West Town
Wicker Park Inn
Wicker Park Inn
#6 of 22 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2144 N Leavitt, Chicago, IL 60647
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Northwest Side , Wicker Park / Bucktown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique B&B in Chicago's Bucktown neighborhood, Ray's welcomes groups and individuals in town for work or play. Modeled after small European hotels and spas, the B&B has eleven bedrooms with private baths, high speed internet (WIFI and in each room as well as community areas including a steam room, sauna, HDTV and a kitchen, and free unrestricted street parking. Breakfast is cooked-to-order when you want it. This is not your parents' bed & breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ray`s Bucktown Hotel Chicago
Ray`s Bucktown b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing