We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutey Fantastic.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 23 Chicago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Absolutey Fantastic.”
Reviewed November 29, 2007

If you are planning on going to Chicago, then you have to book this place.

It is great!!

We arrived and were greeted by Ray, who showed us the around the property.
We then sat down, he mapped out the great locals spots to visit, including a huge variety of restaurants, gave us maps, set us up with train tickets..he thinks of everything to get you started in Chicago.
We were invited to help ourselves to bottled water all day, everyday, ...where on earth has any hotel every given away a bottle of water!!
we could help ourselves to other snacks too throughout the day.

I read the reviews about his breakfasts...and thought they were just a bit over the top...but the breakfast at Rays really is better than the reviews!!
As you sit around the breakfast table viewing the menu, you easily start to chat away with the other clever guests who have found Rays place! So you gain more insight into what to do on your stay.

The rooms were extremely clean and spacious...we had "the Room with a View"

the bathroom was great, and the towels big, thick and fluffy.

We could use the laundry facilities if we wanted...

Would recommend that you head downstairs to the laundry, throw on a load of washing, then hit either the Sauna or the steam room as you wait ...what luxury...best laundry day I have ever had!

Would recommend Rays Bucktown Bed and Breakfast without hesitation and would love to be back there someday myself!

  • Liked — the whole property is faultless..the staff are all friendly
  • Disliked — leaving!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Kiwi Helene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    32
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
62
99
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2007

My sister an I stayed a fantastic whole week in Rays Annex, which is just across the street from the main building.
Our room (guestroom 2) was spacy and friendly with loving little details like painted wardrobe walls, fluffy and cosy beds and a booklet to guide your way around the neighbourhood.
I am not really sure what was best- the people, the place itself, 24h free Internet access, the community within the guests or the breakfast...I never felt that pampered in any other B&B! Ray and his staff is just an experience- especially when they equip themselves with aprons and the eagerness in their faces in the morning to give you a good start into the day!
The Annex building is the "2. part" of the B&B and a little more quiet and peaceful- most of the (exciting) things happen at the main building. The rooms ARE clean and you get fresh towels whenever you want them! Another fab idea are the free water bottles!!!
The neighbourhood is fun: there are lots of nice little shops and cafes around; North Damen Street is an upcoming place and the EL is in walking distance and it feels fine to walk home even when its in the middle of the night!
Try the Sushi Coast or Hot Chocolate Place on Damen Street!

The only thing you might be prepared for is the shock an evil scale might give you back home- the breakfast is just unavoidably extrodinary (and I cannot give my favourite pick- it was ALL jummy!)
No doubt: THE best place to stay! Really, really, really!

Thanks Ray, Vanessa, Jessica and Monica, whenever we get the desire to see Chicago again- we will be back!!!

  • Liked — Location, people, friendlyness, lacation, room, the fab breakfast...just the choice to make!
  • Disliked — What the scale said once back home!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyKBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2007

I'm still dreaming of the Chocolate Raspberry pancakes I had for breakfast the day of our departure from Ray's. Our experience at this bed and breakfast was great! Not only was the breakfast phenomenal, but the staff was very helpful, the rooms were nice and spacious, the neighborhood had a lot of great and trendy restaurants / shops, and better yet Ray himself was so friendly. When I find myself in Chicago again....I will definitely make a point to stay at Ray's.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Cleanliness and the amount of weight I gained when returning from the trip.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NCNM1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2007

The primary complaint I have is that the place was not clean enough. The staff, including Ray were very pleasant and eager to serve. The breakfast was excellent.

Housekeeping needs to really pay attention to details. Our socks were dirty on the bottoms from walking around in the room.

  • Liked — Breakfast was excellent
  • Disliked — Room and overall building was not clean enough
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mrgoretex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2007

My boyfriend and I recently went to Chicago for a wedding and for a quick tour of the city. I found Ray on trip advisor and it was a great choice. The staff are kind, friendly and pleasant. Ray and his staff are ready to provided you with maps, directions, nearest "el" stops and with local places to dine. The rooms are lovely and clean. The neighborhood is very clean, well lighted and quite...a very up and coming neighborhood. I do have to say that my boyfriend and I were very pleased with the exquisite breakfast they prepared, my favorite "Stuffed French Toast " that includes: cream cheese, almonds and blueberries. Defenetly recommend this place and if I ever go back to Chicago I would not hesitate to go back to Ray's B&B.

  • Liked — great staff always helpful
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2007

Lots of extras at this rambling B&B in the Bucktown area, from the sauna downstairs to delicious breakfasts, cooked to order, by personable, down to earth staff. Although the entryway to the annex across the street is a bit dowdy, the Tucson Room was a delight to stay in. A great array of bars and restaurants within easy walking distance, and the El to downtown is around ten minutes' walk.

  • Liked — The breakfast and the utterly comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Having to leave the comfy bed
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Guzzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

Appetite, walking shoes, Chicago questions and smile.

Ray's B & B is located in an excellent location within walking distance to many types of resturants and pubs, plus cute little shops
for those looking for cute little shops. The El is a quick walk away and chances are Ray will drive you there himself. Ray's breakfast is VERY good, if you are a light eater, maybe ask for a "half-portion", or just eat the entire thing and save money on lunch. Get the french toast stuffed with bannanas and Nutella, wow.

We stayed in the Annex, across from the acutal B & B, and I'm glad we did. Each floor of the Annex bost two bedrooms and a huge living area which includes a full stocked kitchen, very nice. Rooms, baths, living and kitchen were tip-top clean.

You can't go wrong with Ray's while in Chicago.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rideskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Town
The Robey
The Robey
#79 of 189 in Chicago
177 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Lincoln Park
Villa D'Citta
Villa D'Citta
#2 of 23 in Chicago
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Town
Urban Holiday Lofts
Urban Holiday Lofts
#4 of 58 in Chicago
995 reviews
West Town
Wicker Park Inn
Wicker Park Inn
#6 of 23 in Chicago
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2144 N Leavitt St, Chicago, IL 60647-3274
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Northwest Side , Wicker Park / Bucktown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique B&B in Chicago's Bucktown neighborhood, Ray's welcomes groups and individuals in town for work or play. Modeled after small European hotels and spas, the B&B has eleven bedrooms with private baths, high speed internet (WIFI and in each room as well as community areas including a steam room, sauna, HDTV and a kitchen, and free unrestricted street parking. Breakfast is cooked-to-order when you want it. This is not your parents' bed & breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ray`s Bucktown Hotel Chicago
Ray`s Bucktown b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing