We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Acts and Waitress” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zanies Comedy Club

Zanies Comedy Club
Ranked #18 of 83 Fun & Games in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Walled Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved Acts and Waitress”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We got to see a home town boy come home to perform, Graham Elwood. He was soooo funny! The opening act was awful to the point of feeling sorry for him...BUT the rest of the show, The MC and the feature, were GREAT! Highly recommend this comedy club as the staff was great and they did set up a great show.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank WolverineGirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    27
    6
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“We Won't Be Back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have thoroughly enjoyed McCurdys Comedy Theater in Sarasota,Florida for many years, returning perhaps ten times annually. When friends suggested going to Zanies in Chicago's Old Town, we jumped at the idea, but were quickly disappointed to find how user UNfriendly that establishment was. First, McCurdy's is at least twice as large and the room between the tables a little more generous. But the biggest difference in the plan is that McCurdy's has reserved tables and Zanies is first come, first grabbed. As a result, we stood in an uncovered line outside Zanies in the rain for half an hour waiting to get some moderately good table. The area outside of McCurdys is covered and the wait before or between shows reasonably comfortable.

Both clubs have a two drink minimum, but the drink and snack menu at McCurdy's is far broader and wine list significantly better. Service at both is adequate and continues throughout the show. McCurdy's adds a tip while Zanies trusts its clients to reward servers properly.

But, of course, the reason to attend is for the show and both clubs have the same format. An MC warms up the audience, followed by a first act and then the "headliner" appears. We have been rarely disappointed with the headliner at McCurdy's and when Les McCurdy does the warm-up, the audience is truly warmed up. Otherwise, the MC there might disappoint. Headliners at both establishments are usually very professional and deliver true entertainment. Zanies' MC, first act and headliner met or exceeded our expectations for entertainment.

Aside from the dreary wait outside of Zanies, another problem was that the bar remained open during the show and two hecklers kept interrupting and were a real annoyance. While the performers did their best to cope with the problem, we were surprised that the manager did nothing to stop or even remove them. All things considered, we will continue to enjoy McCurdys and pass on Zanies.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
145 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fun but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

How many people can you pack into one room? Zanies is like a crowded airplane.
Fun night, glad we went, but not that great of a venue.

Helpful?
1 Thank JudyAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
59 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved Pat, one of the "ATs"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Pat McGann , the warm up, was hilarious . Great improv and astoundingly clean language. We do comedy clubs everywhere and this place was average. Nice 2 drink minimum and reasonable drink prices. Surprise main act was Jeff Garlin. Now I know why I don't watch "Curb your enthusiasm". He curbed everyone's there. Guess he was trying new material or just thought he is always funny. NOT SO FAST JEFF! Unprepared and attempted to blame the audience. 300 live people usually are right
But we will go again, and look for Pat to be the main act.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoy a good laugh..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Located uptown in a nice neighbourhood. Bought Tickets the same day. MC had great energy and comics were ok but none "murdered" the place.
2 drink minimum.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bruno17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zanies Comedy Club also viewed

 

Been to Zanies Comedy Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing