We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing selection of beers, great food, great service!”
Review of Hopleaf Bar

Hopleaf Bar
Ranked #266 of 9,548 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“amazing selection of beers, great food, great service!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Ever since I moved to Edgewater, I've been going to the Hopleaf a few times a month at least. I first went there for the beer, but the food is excellent too! not your typical bar food at all. Their fries with the aioli are delicious and they come with all the mussels (another favorite) and sandwiches, or you can order them as a side. The entrees are pricier, but they are worth it. The main protein selection is more or less constant throughout the year, but the sides change seasonally. The appetizers, salads and the second mussels dish (first is always Belgian style) change seasonally as well. Just note that price doesn't always correlate with portion size. For $10+ we've had appetizers that had a whole octopus, as well as one with a few very thin slices for bison tartare. When in doubt, ask the servers. They are very knowledgeable and eager to help. The beers come with descriptions, but if you still cannot decide, tell the server your general beer preferences and they will be able to recommend a few choices. It used to take quite sometime to get a table for dinner, but after the extension (the place doubled!) the wait times have diminished with almost no wait during the week. During the summer they also have a great outdoor patio that increases their capacity.
Overall, in my opinion, the best place to grab a beer in Chicago...unless all you drink is Bud Light, then this may not be the place for you.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andreea2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    77
    20
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
195 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Very Good Food, but Noisy”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Saw this place on Diners, Drive-ins & Dives and it sold me instantly. I had to have the brisket sandwich shown on TV. And, it was very good. My daughter had the CB&J which is their signature sandwich; I tasted this and it was wonderful. I'll get this next time. The beer selection was staggering. I asked the server to recommend a beer and she brought me an Allagash which was superb.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nacho52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food can be great, and not so good”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Have been here more than once and really like the beer menu and most of the food when served as intended. The mussels are among the best you will ever have, the sausage appetizer is wonderful, the frites excellent and the desserts I've tried such as the lemon cheesecake and flourless chocolate tart are very good. Tonite, while most in our party of six enjoyed their meal, my lamb saddle was terrible. In addition to being stone cold when they served it, the lamb pieces were fatty, sinewy end scraps that should not have been served. Further, the service was less than attentive and we waited a LONG time between appetizers and entre, which likely explains why my food was cold - it was clearly plated long before being served. One great feature is that Hopleaf is a tavern, which means NO out-of-control kids and no indiffererent parents to spoil your evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rakeshdry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Beer Joint/Bistro”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

So many beers to choose from. Every beer lover should pay this place a visit. The food is great! The atmosphere is casual yet elegant at the same time. The front of the Bar is more a traditional bar; however, walk to the back and you are wowed with a wonderful dining area and patio and for more of a casual experience they now have expanding to the building next door (access through the back dining room). Love this place!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DanTheGentleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
182 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Come for the food, stay for the beer”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Had the pleasure of tipping back a few and enjoying dinner at this oasis from the same-old craft beer pub. The food is tremendous -- try the mussels! And the beer selection is not just extensive to show off, it's thoughtfully put together. It's truly an amazing collection and well worth a try.

The staff are right out of central casting for this kind of place: young but seasoned, knowledgeable and very customer minded. The experience will not disappoint either foodies or craft beer aficionados, just like Ann W has said. Spot on Ann!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brewski59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hopleaf Bar also viewed

 

Been to Hopleaf Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing