We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Interesting Establishment”
Review of Hopleaf Bar

Hopleaf Bar
Ranked #266 of 9,544 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Clairton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An Interesting Establishment”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

You get all the feel of a classic pub, hard wood and brick, lots of taps and bottles to choose from, friendly service. The one thing that people might find intimidating would be the food menu. It is not typical bar fare, but color me crazy, I liked what I saw on the menu. I sampled the Pork Belly and Endive salad, very tasty.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slasich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    77
    20
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great bar but not a huge fan of the food”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Hopleaf has been around for a very long time and is a mainstay bar in the Andersonville neighborhood. The beer selection is amazing but the original front bar is not very large and fills up quickly so it can be hard to find a seat. But if you are there on a weeknight when the restaurant is not so busy you can probably find a seat in the back or off to the side area. The food is good but it is a bit shi shi for my taste as everything is a little bit fancy for what I consider bar food. For instance you can't get a hamburger but you can get duck. But as a plus if you are bringing your girlfriend she will have no problem finding something on the menu to eat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Hoppy Hipster Hideout!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Visiting Chicago and on a recommendation from a friend was told this is one of the go-to places for beer lovers. It was busy when we arrived for dinner on a Sunday evening. As for the experience: The service was good and the beer was great! I had the organic brisket which was a bit out of my box but a decent choice. Washed it down with a Zombie Dust IPA. For desert I had an excellent coffee stout. My one gripe is that they don't do beer flights. In a place with such an extensive and wonderful beer list it is a shame this is not an option.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TikkunOlam77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pretty great.”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Lots of beer choices, great appetizers (we had the frites and duck sausage, both were excellent but the duck sausage is a MUST) and excellent entrees. Most everyone in our group of 6 enjoyed their food, drinks, and the service. I had Wild Boar Loin ($22) and practically licked my plate clean. Just be careful ordering frites as an app as many of the dishes come with them anyway, we had piles of leftover frites on our table. I think it's a great spot for drinks and friends or even a family meal, but I'd go elsewhere for a nice date at this price point.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank cbmIchiban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Dundee, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I am not a beer drinker but my husband and daughters are and this is a place in Andersonville that deserves 5 stars! The food is excellent and so many wonderful choices in beers. I had the mussels (OMG!) and have also had the CB&J (home-made cashew butter, fig jam and morbier cheese pan-fried on sourdough bread and served with stilton mac and cheese). Absolutely delicious! They have recently added more seating but our favorite place to sit is in the back by the fire. Ah-h-h-h.....

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KileysGrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hopleaf Bar also viewed

 

Been to Hopleaf Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing