We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Drake Brothers

Drake Brothers
Reserve with OpenTable
Drake Brothers is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #394 of 9,495 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Magnificent Mile
Cross street: Michigan Avenue
Description: Rich oak wood and verdant greenery set the stage for this classic restaurant perched above the corner of the Magnificent Mile and the Gold Coast, with beautiful panoramic view of lake Michigan and Lake Shore Drive. Here guests enjoy outstanding service for breakfast and lunch 365 days a year.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good for a hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We made a reservation and went there for lunch with 4 friends. Six of us total. We thought it would be more of a "trendy" fun restaurant, but it turned out it was the hotel restaurant which essentially seemed to be for taking care of guests for breakfast/lunch. They seemed to be resetting things after the breakfast crowd. Had we known it was the hotel "restaurant" we would have eaten at one of the many Italian places in the neighborhood. Food was fine although we only got about 20 fries with the 2 of us that got sandwiches.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IDDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    36
    21
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Couldn't get it right, over and over and over........”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stopped for breakfast the day I checked out of the Drake and was completely disappointed and had to send stuff back 3 times for a simple breakfast. They brought coffee to my table quickly - it was cold. I ordered eggs, poached well - the server asked "does that mean completely cooked" and I said yes - the eggs were completely runny when they brought them. Asked for Rye toast - they brought white toast. You would think, having screwed up 50% of the meal, that they would have compensated on some level and perhaps discounted the check or something - NOT, not even an apology from the manager or supervisor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mysticyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
691 reviews
426 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“North Michigan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Great breakfast place in the Drake Hotel. If you have a chance check out the beautiful lobby. We ordered off the menu. I would recommend that over the buffet. You will have more time to chat over a leisurely breakfast

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cystokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a table by the window and had a very delicious breakfast. Everything was cooked to order and they kept bringing me fresh orange juice that tasted so good! We would return her again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jnfrun98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great breakfast buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The food and service were magnificent. We ordered 2 Mimosa's the were 15 bucks ea. pretty expensive. Also we were told if you purchase breakfast vouchers at the time you make your reservations gratuity is already included . The only time you would leave a tip is if you order anything other then breakfast.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1hapicamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drake Brothers also viewed

 

Been to Drake Brothers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing