We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Tour!”

Wendella Sightseeing Boats
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

A must see for 1st time visitors to Chicago. I went on a foggy Saturday and was afraid I was not going to see much, but was pleasantly proven wrong after the first 5 minutes. The tour guide was very informed. There is some seating in the lower level, but the top level seating was comfortable as well. Highly recommended and would do it again in heartbeat!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jrda2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,080
    365
    53
    18
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
327 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great way to see the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

I loved this tour! It was kind of a cloudy/rainy day, but it was still a great tour. It goes up and down the river and out on to Lake Michigan. The history was interesting. I highly recommend it! Sit on the top so you can see everything!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 44tvmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
340 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Fun Tour!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed this tour a lot. They give you great history on the city and take you both through the city and through the lock to the lake.

The boat has both outdoor and heated indoor seating. The staff was great and it was a fun tour. You'll find them by the Trump tower. My only advice to the company is to turn up the volume, it was hard to hear what was being said while indoors.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LfeisGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Did this tour the morning after the marathon as I just wanted to sit with my feet up and take things nice and easy, so the 90 minute boat trip sounded ideal. Steps down to and up from the quay were a challenge to say the least but the free ticket for runners was a very pleasant and generous surprise and helped ease the pain.

The tour was very informative and the fact that you also get to spend some time out on the Lake gives you an opportunity to see Chicago from a completely different angle.

The boat itself is very comfortable with both inside and outside seating areas, in addition there is a bar on board that also sells coffee and light snacks.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sjt63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

The prices on the website are wrong and the excursion times are listed wrong and the girl at the window acted as if I were stupid for pointing this out to her. Other than that our trip was remarkable, the guide was great and we enjoyed it so much, one of the best things we did while in Chicago. They have a bar on the boat along with inside or outside seating and clean restrooms. No handicap access so you are out of luck if you're chair bound.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendellaBoatsChicago, Owner at Wendella Sightseeing Boats, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thanks for the response. I'm glad you enjoyed the tour and apologize that your interaction with our ticket seller wasn't what it should have been, I have checked the web site and have confirmed that all the prices are in fact correct. If purchased by phone or in person our adult tickets are $28. With a 5% web discount they are $26.60. What ticket did you purchased that was incorrect?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wendella Sightseeing Boats also viewed

 

Been to Wendella Sightseeing Boats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing