We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the money - exceeded all expectations!”

Shoreline Sightseeing
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.60*
and up
Chicago Architecture River Cruise
More Info
$124.00*
and up
Viator VIP: Willis Tower Skydeck Early Access, Trolley City Tour and Chicago...
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Chicago Explorer Pass
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: TripAdvisor ranked Shoreline Sightseeing as the #1 Most Booked Tour in America! Shoreline Sightseeing is Chicago's leader in river and lake cruises! Featuring state-of-the-art tour boats and expert guides, Shoreline presents the Chicago skyline as you've never seen it before. With so many options among our lake and river cruises, we're sure to offer a tour your whole group will love. Our famous Architecture River Tours are led by knowledgeable and entertaining guides showcasing the city's rich architectural heritage. We also offer skyline lake tours, romantic sunset tours, and exciting fireworks cruises from which to see dazzling displays throughout the summer. Themed offerings include wine tasting cruises, brew cruises, 4th of July options, and St. Patrick's Day cruises. So set sail with Shoreline today, where every day is a celebration of Chicago!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
1 review
“Well worth the money - exceeded all expectations!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I had always heard the architectural tour of Chicago was a must do, but never wanted to fork over the $35. Needless to say, I was missing out. Great opportunity to sightsee from a different angle and not have to worry about traffic. The architectural information is great, but the general Chicago history is priceless as well. Jeff, our tour guide, was knowledgeable and extremely entertaining. I was expecting some dry, architecture buff. Jeff was funny, informative, and kept everyone enthralled throughout the entire tour. Don't miss out!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KYBourbonGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,898
    445
    64
    25
    24
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birchwood, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great sights; one of the best parts of our trip!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I took the architectural tour on Sunday. It was great, the price was a little higher than I wanted to spend but in the end it was worth it. It was a one hour ride (at night) down the Chicago River. The tour guide was friendly and informative and the rest of the staff was also friendly and helpful. Drinks were sold at the bottom part of the boat. Pictures were taken before the ride started, and were sold for $20 when we got off. There were a total of 5 pictures (one large photo and 4 wallet size) and we thought it was worth the money also. It's a great way to learn about the city whether you have been there before or not.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great tour of Chicago!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We managed to book on the architectural tour of Boston river. The tour was great and the tour guide (Jeff) was very knowledgeable and funny too!

It's a definite recommendation for Chicago - the only draw backs was that it was $32 each and after the tenth building all the facts & figures kinda roll into one as the tour can be a bit fast paced. Providing a data sheet or tour guide booklet would have helped the memory and tipped the balance into downright awesomeness.

There was also a bar on board so you could enjoy a nice beer whilst sunning it on the top deck - perfect!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MancTraveller95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
419 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Chicago River tour”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I took the architecture tour of the Chicago River. I was absolutely amazed. The diversity and history of architecture along the chicago river was extremely interesting. A very enjoyable and relaxing experience...recommended for sunny day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sjdif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
210 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Very Interesting Tour”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We did the Architecture boat tour leaving from near the magnificent mile. We really enjoyed the tour and commentary that came along with it. The tour guide did a great job of describing the buildings along with fun facts about each. We cruised up all three branches of the river briefly and ended up back where we started. The tour took about an hour. I would say that this is a must do for your trip to Chicago.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoreline Sightseeing also viewed

 

Been to Shoreline Sightseeing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing