We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best Pakistani/Indian food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sabri Nihari

Sabri Nihari
Ranked #634 of 9,467 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Rogers Park
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best Pakistani/Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I love their Nihari and other dishes l. My daughter ordered Beef qeema samosas and love the taste, those were not oily but crispy and very tasty.Their Nan is also very good. I felt back home . Resturant atmosphere is very good, upscale and organized, I like the excellent customer service. we enjoyed the food and will go bak there when we will vist Chicago agian.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank aquaSpringfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    48
    11
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Highly recommend for Pakistani food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband's family is Pakistani and my mil is the best cook out there so I tend to be picky when it comes to Pakistani restaurants. We invited some friends to meet us there for dinner and I am so glad I picked this place.

Nothing is as good as your mom's authentic food but they come pretty close. The entrées we tried had enough heat and were not too sweet like other places.

We ordered pakoras, beef samosas, frontier chucked, nihari, mutton biryani, grill plate, and palak daal. Everything was good but the nihari and palak daal were the stars for me. My boys loved the grill items.

Service was good. Portions are big so we had a lot of food left and our server packed everything very nicely.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Smuzzie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, though watch the a la carte pricing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My friends and I were looking for a great place to eat recently, and one of them jokingly pointed at the first restaurant we saw on this street after turning. A few seconds later, I check my phone for reviews, and everyone had a great experience.

We ordered garlic nan, onion kulcha, chicken makhani, frontier chicken, bhindi masala, and dal palak. Personally, I thought everything was delicious. My favorite was the bhindi masala - a fantastic okra dish. Honestly, you cannot go wrong with anything vegetarian in this restaurant, and the chicken dishes were delicious as well.

Beware the a la carte pricing, however - rice is not included with your meal. This isn't a deal breaker, but is something to understand ahead of time. We ordered one order of rice for the table (or 3), and it was enough for me. I don't typically need a ton of rice when I go out to this type of place anyway.

The waiter tried to persuade us that 3 mains was enough, but variety is the spice of life, and that's what I am always going for at these places. Plus, you have a fantastic lunch the next day (curries always seem to be better after a day in the fridge, unlike Chinese or Japanese foods...)

All in all, go and enjoy - and I recommend the garlic nan over the onion kulcha.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Blakalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

It was so great to have a good home cooked meal in a nice clean restaurant. My future husband and I are thinking of having them cater out wedding reception. Janeji34 islamophobic review is ridiculous. I have been there with a group of women, and we were treated very well. If people were looking at her and her white friends, then she got a taste about what it is like every single time I go to a restaurant as a woman of color. White people stare just as much as others - hold your self accountable before you make judgements on others.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hijabicycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“PAKISTANI & EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

This place is for the native guy to have a true taste of home. Decor, crowd, ambiance, none of it is fancy. The food however, will take you to the streets of Lahore, the food capital of Pak. I have tried a number of their dishes and most of them are excellent. However, Frontier Chicken & Sabri Nihari clearly steal the show. Be prepared to sharpen your palette before trying the nihari as the spice level may be too hot for some!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ahpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabri Nihari also viewed

 

Been to Sabri Nihari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing