We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Asian Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Big Bowl - Erie Street - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Big Bowl - Erie Street
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, American, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
126 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Good Asian Food!”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Must Try - Wanton Noodle Soup; and the Roasted Pork Fried Rice (request for spicy fried rice)! Yummy.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank BB2015LWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    18
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere - good food”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

A lovely place serving freshly prepared Thai and Chinese food. And if they say spicy they mean it! A really nice & chilled change from the plethora of competing restaurants trying hard to be sophisticated. And lo and behold - they don't smother everything in cheese! Service is great and there is free internet. Try the sangria (let's call it Thai/Spanish fusion).

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
187 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Interesting Choices, Nice Meal”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I've eaten sit down and carry-out at Big Bowl. There are some nice, exotic choices of Asian/Chinese/Thai dishes. The food is fresh, fast, and there is a reasonably large selection. It's nice to be able to get a casual, great meal while I'm traveling alone on business.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank dmresource
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
263 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“So Overrated”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Sorry, we've had this food several times for office lunches and I do not get the attraction to it. It is very mediocre food and I've had it several times and each time I try something different hoping that it has to be better than the last thing I ordered (but it's not.) Others in my office like it and say it's OK, others don't care for it either. There are so many other places to eat in Downtown Chicago - why waste your time and money here.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jbrenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
332 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“great place to eat!”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Great place to eat and the service is really good as well. Definitely a place to go!

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler0632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing