We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Museum in America ”

Art Institute of Chicago
Ranked #106 of 9,604 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Museum in America ”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

I am not an art lover, but I love history and imagination. This art museum inspires me to imagine I am back in time and to see 1000 year old artifacts up close. The cafe is really nice to , it's a bit pricey but not out of reach. Remember this museum is ever changing so you may not see a painting you came for if it got loaned out to another museum the world over. Don't forget to go downstairs and see the miniature rooms and photography exhibit too. Also make use of the coat check to be as comfortable as possible. This museum is right on Michigan Ave right next to the bean and millennium park. Get off any loop stop and go to michigan ave towards the park and you can't miss it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    82
    18
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch at the Museum”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The unmatchable collections at the Art Institute might make you a bit hungry. Luckily the restaurant on the premises is a perfect stop for a quick coffee or full lunch. The venue is obviously breathtaking and I was pleasantly surprised by the bang for your buck at lunch time in the cafe.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jronngmil3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompano beach florida
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Quality of Food @ 3pm, still wonderful.”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

WE are museum snobs. Do them all, with a critical eye. Had not returned to the CAI since the new addition was completed. Starved @ three pm, found the restaurant only about 25% full. The three in our party ordered totally divergent items and oogled at the great stuff served up.

Did not know the "Impressionism, Fashion & Modernity" exhibit was offered or ... had been extended. Our path forward; most highlights in one hour - was derailed by this wonderful glimpse into the past ... Daah. What museums are about, right? We felt we were right back at the Muse D'Orsay.

Planning a return next year. Parking at Grant Park, South, ~$25 for ~ 3 hours, BUT that location elevated us one floor at street level to enter the portal of the new addition. Ticketing there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank volvo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Museum Cafe review”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Museum Cafe is a truly wonderful dining experience and would stand alone on the street as one of the better venues in the city for fine dining. There is an enormous selection of fresh, wonderful food prepared by excellent chefs who serve you their food. I had half of an Itallian sandwich and a bowl of the most delicious gazpacho soup. Don't miss this on your visit to the Institute.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bisonburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a day in Chicago”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I are *not* artsy people at all, yet we thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Art Institue. The Impressionism & Fashion exhibit was fantastic, as well as the Thorn Rooms, photography exhibits, the Asian art, the modern art, etc., etc. If it's not in the Louvre, there's a good chance it's at the Art Institute of Chicago.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Art Institute of Chicago also viewed

 

Been to Art Institute of Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing