We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great visit”

Art Institute of Chicago
Ranked #115 of 9,494 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Nacogdoches, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great visit”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Crowds of people were there for the Impressionists and Fashion exhibit, but the place managed it well. We spent four hours and were happy with the visit. The restaurant, however, was nothing to brag about. Figure out another way to get lunch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    79
    16
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
marietta, ga
Level Contributor
153 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The museum is fantastic. Do not miss the impressionists and fashion exhibit. The new modern wing is a joy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank verysatisfied09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville,Ky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible building and art”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

This art institute was expansive and was an outstanding experience for my family. My daughter who seemed disinterested throughout most of it, even found some of the sculpture and painting intriguing. I absolutely loved it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rlcahil12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A city treasure trove--way too much to tell--”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We live in the city so we've been members of and visitors to the Art Institute all our lives. It is an endlessly wonderful collection.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank classof60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Six Wonderful Hours!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

What a great way to spend a cold day in Chicago! The staff here is wonderful. They hooked me up with a free wheelchair, so my handicapped sister could enjoy her first visit back here in 60+years. She was so thrilled with the miniature collection that she loved and remembered so well as a child. The collections are fabulous. I'm so glad we set aside a day to spend here.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emmarubybegonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Art Institute of Chicago also viewed

 

Been to Art Institute of Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing