We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maxwell's at The East Bank Club”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The East Bank Club

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The East Bank Club
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.60*
and up
Chicago Architecture River Cruise
Ranked #256 of 635 things to do in Chicago
Attraction details
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Maxwell's at The East Bank Club”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Went to Maxwell's at the East Bank Club for brunch last weekend since we had a $50 gift cert which we bid on and won at a local fundraiser. Had been interested in finding out about the East Bank Club for some time but never really found the right time to go.

Brunch was average. Totally comfortable for families. Nice big buffet style brunch with everything you would expect. Hard to go wrong with standard delicious breakfast foods. Every brunch ($28 per person) comes with coffee, juice (or mimosa or bloody mary) and interestingly, bagels. They bring the bagels to your table no matter what. I could probably get those off the buffet if I really wanted them, but I'm not going to complain if you want to bring them special to the table. The place is well worn and obviously funnels a lot of traffic through.

Despite the average-ness, we spent $70 total with tax and tip for the two of us, so it's not cheap (we were happy we had the gift card).

We asked for a tour of the facility after brunch, and the workout facilities are absolutely huge and diverse (check their website). Monthly dues are more than $300 per couple. $180 for a single. Would consider it if we end up moving to the neighborhood, there are just so many options for workouts and activities there. In total they have 11,000 members.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank copperpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Maxwell's at the Club...”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Check out this review by Ralph Pancetta: http://ralphpancetta.com/reviews/illinois/chicago/maxwells/maxatclub.htm

Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“STAY FAR FAR FAR FAR AWAY......”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Simon Meredith, a loser from England with no education running a tennis club. East Bank Club is nothing but talk. Simon Meredith, the manager of this stinky place is the worst dictator of our times. This is nothing but a scam place. I worked at EBC for the past 7 years and I saw hundreds of cases of unhappy customers come and go. Simon runs the club like a dictator would. He hand picks who works at the club and who belongs to the club. I find this to be very disturbing. None of the employees at the East Bank Club like Simon. We are all waiting for the day he gets fired. If you are a member here, I would highly recommend going to a club like Lakeshore, Lifetime, LA Fitness or FFC. There is also the chicago area clubs. You get a lot for your money than what you pay for the East Bank Club. Over the past 3 years, I have seen the club go from 7000 members to less than 3000 members now. The EBC is an over-ratted place.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

massive club, great pool (2nd floor was steel bottom and I am not so sure it was only 25 yards I think it was meters) huge cardio room. its 25 $$ and you have to be from a local hotel to get in.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Become a regular”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

What a fantastic place to work out, have a great meal and just relax. The staff here are fantastic and make it feel like a home away from home.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kaimada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The East Bank Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing