We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in a Great Location...Great Value too!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Ranked #52 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a Great Location...Great Value too!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

Just stayed at the Comfort Suites in Chicago, and I must say that I'm pleased with the hotel. We reserved a 2 queen beds bedroom suite and the accomodations were spacious, with ample closet space. The suite had a full kitchen, and comes with all the cookware, dishes, and silverware that you may need should you get the urge to cook. But why would you want to when you're staying in Chicago with all its great food? (The microwave did come in handy though when heating up leftovers for a midnight snack).

The only negative was that the bathroom was really small, which was weird because the rest of the suite was large. The suite also comes with a washer and dryer, which is good in case you don't want to pack a lot of clothes and just want to travel with a carry-on (which is what my sister did). Everything in our room was new, the beds, the desk, the flatscreen TV, the rest of the furniture. We also got free internet, but you need to bring an ethernet cable because they don't provide Wi-Fi. The free breakfast was a nice extra. Everything was in good working order, and we didn't experience any problems in our suite. However, my parents were in another room and weren't so lucky...their air conditioner didn't work for 3 nights of our 5 night trip, which made their room an uncomfortable 75 degrees unless they opened the windows. The hotel did offer them a $25/night discount for the inconvenience, though I would have preferred they were given a room change or upgrade right away, instead of waiting a couple of days for maintenance to fix it.

The location of the hotel is excellent, right on Michigan Avenue and right by the river. It's also convenient because a Walgreens is right at the corner, where we bought water and some snacks. Also, the bus stops were close by, either in front of the hotel, or around the corner, and we were able to go everywhere through public transportation. Public transit is cheap and very easy to use in Chicago, and you can buy 1, 3, or 7-day bus passes at the CVS pharmacy that is across the street, about a half-block away from the hotel.

Also, the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful whenever we had any questions or asked for recommendations, especially Lee...he's awesome and a good resource for what to do in Chicago.

The hotel is a great value too! We got a special grand opening rate through Travel Zoo, only $89 per night! Score! But the average nightly rate I've seen for the hotel now are very reasonable too.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maricar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your review on the hotel. Our suites are some of the largest in city. We do offer one the best locations in the heart of Chicago. We hope to see you again soon.

Please tell me if I can personally make your next reservation.

Best Regards,

Robert Humphrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    497
    140
    39
    33
See reviews for
568
473
87
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

The CS on Michigan is an excellent facility. Our room was on the 8th floor; had a corner suite; only 4 suites per floor. The room was very pleasant with queen bed and sofa bed. The sofa bed had not been used before as the the mattress was still in shrink wrap. The towels were new and plush. The kitchenette was nice. No wireless service so we couldn't use our ipod touch, but made use of free terminals in the lobby. Breakfast was nice with yogurt, an assortment of pastries, muffins, and bagels, eggs and sausage or ham. The location was convenient. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nappanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Sandrine L,

Thank you so much for your review on the hotel. Our suites are some of the largest in city. We do offer one the best locations in the heart of Chicago. We hope to see you again soon.

Please tell me if I can personally make your next reservation.

Best Regards,

Robert Humphrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2009

My family recently stayed at the Comfort Suites on Michigan Avenue in Chicago and had a great time. I can start out, though, with what it’s not. It’s not a 4 star hotel. We stayed at the Swissotel around the corner during our last visit to see our family and there’s definitely a difference in service, amenities, etc. So if you’re the type who has to have fine linens, fluffy towels (though these were pretty impressive for this class of hotel), turndown service and chocolates on your pillow, skip this hotel.

But…if you’re traveling with family and looking for a great value and unbelievable space, in an unbeatable location - this is your hotel. We also got an incredible Travelzoo special grand opening rate which made it even better.

We had a queen suite with a separate bedroom (though no door) including a flat screen TV. There was also a living room with a pullout sofa, chair, desk, dresser and another flat screen TV. There was a full kitchen: refrigerator, stove, microwave, toaster, dishwasher - the works. The kitchen was outfitted with basic pots, pans, dishes, glassware, flatware, etc. You could actually eat there, though there’s no table and chairs, there is a counter with two stools. Best of all, there’s an in-suite washer and dryer, which was such a novelty that we did laundry every night. We were on a high floor and had a spectacular view up Michigan Avenue over the river; what a bonus.

We were there over Memorial Day weekend, just a couple of weeks after they opened, and they were still working out a few kinks, but the front desk staff was so nice and helpful and really tried to fix things as they came up. When we arrived , our room safe in the closet wasn’t working and it was fixed within half an hour.

Housekeeping was spotty at best - they didn’t show up until we were back in the room at 4pm the first afternoon and wound up cleaning around us while we got ready to go to dinner. On our last day, they randomly didn’t leave any washcloths.

Breakfast and internet access (wired) are included in your room rate, which is nice. But on Memorial Day, we showed up at breakfast at 8:45 and all the hot food was gone already - and breakfast was supposed to go until 10am.

All the furniture in the rooms is brand new, which is nice, but clearly everything wasn’t redone. There was a “weird alien handprint” (as dubbed by the 6 year old) on refrigerator - some kind of disturbing red stain. The bathtub had a big sticker covering discoloration in the tub - we decided to steer away from baths for the weekend. There was a mysterious locked closet in the suite which turned out to be storage for towels, as we discovered when we wound up being there with the cleaning crew on Saturday. Though the guy who appeared to be the lead on the crew assured us they wouldn’t come in and out for towels, another woman on the crew let herself in to get some later on. A little unsettling to have your room used for storage, but we put up the Do Not Disturb sign anytime we were actually there and tried not to think about it too much.

Parking is a big, big problem in downtown Chicago these days, and the Comfort Suites does not, at this time, have a contract for a garage - though they tell us they are working on it and the website says they do. After spending a fortune on parking the first day, we found an outside lot around the corner between the Corner Bakery and the Club Suites hotel. If you don’t mind outdoor parking, it’s a deal at $17 for 12 hours ($12 on the weekends). Or don’t rent/bring a car at all and get yourself a CTA pass a block south at the CVS drugstore. There’s a bus stop that’ll get you just about anywhere right in front of the hotel. There’s also a Walgreens and a Chipotle Mexican restaurant (one of our favorites) on the same block.

There’s a very basic workout room with a bike, treadmill, elliptical machine, and weight machine, as well as towels. This is also the same room where the vending machines are. There’s no TV yet though they promise there will be.

On the whole, we'd go back again - even with the bumps.

Tips on sightseeing: we got to see some amazing Chicago museums, including the new Oceanarium at Shedd Aquarium, the Harry Potter exhibit at the Museum of Science and Industry, and the new modern wing at the Art Institute. All are not to be missed. We also enjoyed a quick visit to the Lincoln Park Zoo (always a favorite) and the Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum in Lincoln Park - both great for families with kids.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marmtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Sandrine L,

Thank you so much for your review on the hotel. Our suites are some of the largest in city. We do offer one the best locations in the heart of Chicago. We hope to see you again soon.

Please tell me if I can personally make your next reservation.

Best Regards,

Robert Humphrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2009

Well what can I say about this place. We checked in at 11pm Friday and found that teh sofa bed was new. ALthough this is not bad I had to call up the front desk to have them unpack it for my kids who were about to pass out. Also had to request an ethernet cable cause they didnt have one prepared since there is no wireless connection. Even though they had flat screen TV's the one in my bedroom didnt have a working cable connection. After complaining the next day they offered to move to another room but I asked for a discount since we unpacked already. Got 20% discount and I was satisfied with that alternative. Also they didnt have any top sheets that night cause they ran out and everything was in the washer.

The best thing about the hotel is its location. 1/2 block away from the river and really centrally located if youre wanting to go visit the parks and museum or shopping.

Overall our experience wasnt bad and I am giving them 3.5 stars.

Helpful?
3 Thank zuesssssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Sandrine L,

Thank you so much for your review on the hotel. Our suites are some of the largest in city. We do offer one the best locations in the heart of Chicago. We hope to see you again soon.

Please tell me if I can personally make your next reservation.

Best Regards,

Robert Humphrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#64 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop

Property: Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Address: 320 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-3705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Family Hotel in Chicago
#45 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the award-winning Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue Chicago. Located in the heart of downtown Chicago on North Michigan Avenue. Select from a range of beautifully designed studio, one- and two-bedroom downtown Chicago suites featuring nearly twice the space of the typical hotel room at a better value. Spacious and distinctly contemporary, each Chicago hotel suite blends the full range of guest amenities and services with an upscale residential feel and sweeping downtown views. Enjoy home-style comforts such as full kitchens, washers and dryers, complimentary high-speed Internet, and flat panel LCD televisions. Outside, the Windy City's best shopping, dining, and entertainment - including the famed Magnificent Mile - are just steps from our front door. Venture out and explore all that makes up our extraordinary city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Chicago
Comfort Suites Chicago
Chicago Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing