We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekend in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Ranked #49 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
“weekend in the city”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I came to this hotel to celebrate my birthday downtown. This is in a great location in the city. There is plenty to do in the area, which is key. The staff members were very friendly and helpful in making sure we had the best stay we could. The room was great with an awesome view. There was a kitchenette, and a washer and dryer in the rooms. Since you can't actually stop on Michigan Avenue, I was told there was valet parking right around the corner, which was very convenient for my friends and I. Overall, I had a great experience at the Comfort Suites and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We are so pleased you selected us to host you on your birthday weekend. I am happy you enjoyed our staff, location and hotel features. Why not make it an annual trip and come see us again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,078
    505
    141
    40
    34
See reviews for
578
483
88
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The location is great and this is the most important thing in Chicago. But that's not all, the rooms are quite big with separate living and sleeping areas. You've got a washing machine, a dryer and a kitchenette, so all in all quite comfortable.
The only issues with the hotel are the disadvantages of the already mentioned great location in the heart of Chicago:
there is no parking opportunity provided by the hotel itself, the next parking garage lies across the street and is way overprized. You can't even stop your car next to the entrance of the hotel to unload your luggage, you have to do that 200 feet down in a side street. Furthermore, the lobby is REALLY small and 2 elevators aren't enough during checkout times.
That's why I can't give 5 stars here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterBrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your recent business and for taking the time to leave a review. I am so pleased you enjoyed the features of our spacious suites along with our unbeatable location. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was a girls getaway visit to Chicago, and this is a city we had never visited before. The Comfort Suites was the perfect place to stay....so close to everything we wanted to see and experience. The staff was very friendly and helpful and always had the answers to our questions. One not so fun thing going on during our visit was the teacher's strike, but a really fun thing was a movie was being filmed in Chicago that weekend....so, we got to see a lot of neat "movie things" happening in the area around the hotel.

I am so happy we chose this hotel....the location was great and there were some wonderful restaurants within walking distance, and as always we made time for shopping!!!!!!

Room Tip: we were in the penthouse on the 26th floor...view was great...noise didn't bother us
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
I am so pleased you selected us for your first time visit to Chicago. I am so happy you enjoyed our location and staff. Please come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I can't imagine why there are such good reviews here. Staff members? Their parents? This hotel has a very good location, but the lobby is as minimal as possible and all the public rooms have a dark, dingy feel. The breakfast was also minimal -- compared to the Hampton Inn, where we also stayed on this trip.

The hallways are very narrow -- to the point where I was wondering if they're wide enough to satisfy the fire code. We had a suite in the back of the hotel. It was adequate but slightly run down. Dingy again.

We requested a late checkout, just an extra hour. They demanded an extra $15. We said no, thanks. They then offered to store our luggage as if it was a big favor.

Just an all around downer of an experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your stay and for providing us with your feedback. I was sadden to read you did not enjoy the features of our hotel. We have various different room types to choose from and hope you will give us another chance when you are back in Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I had a great time in Chicago. The Comfort Suites was the prefect hotel. The staff were every
helpful. The building was very clean along with my room. The King Suite was a King Size Suite.
The Breakfast Buffet was just right. The location was close to transit, the sights, shopping and restaurants. So its the place to stay in Chicago.

Room Tip: Pick a suite at the back of the building. Less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CliffyB507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
I am so pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff helpful and accomodating. I thank you for your business and hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed here with my 9 best friends during my bachelorette party this past July. It was PERFECT for us. We had a large suite with beds for everyone, kitchen (we were able to cook one of our meals, which offset costs for girls who were flying in), living room. The location was amazing. Our room looked out onto Michigan Ave. Walking distance to everything. Beds were comfortable! Breakfast was OK - it only ran until 9, which is a little early for us, but it looked like it would have been pretty good had we made it up for it. I would absolutely stay here again! It was just exactly what we were looking for.

Room Tip: We stayed in the two queen room suites overlooking Michigan Ave - great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejbergman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for selecting us to host your bachelorette party weekend. I am glad you enjoyed our oversized suites and one of a kind location. We hope to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I am a local who was looking to bring a group of relatives together in Chicago. This hotel is very centrally located and is walking distance to so many places including Millennium Park, several boat tours, Magnificent Mile, restaurants, souvenir shops, etc. We had 10 rooms in total and everyone was very happy with them. They are bigger than the average hotel room and gave us places to gather. The various great views from our different rooms included the Magnificent Mile, the Chicago River, Trump Tower, Willis Tower and more. The hotel staff was both friendly and helpful. Patrick, the director of sales, was so good to us in helping us plan our visit. All of this...and we got a very reasonable rate. We can't thank the staff enough for making us feel comfortable and taking great care of us!

Room Tip: The rooms vary depending on the number of beds. We liked the Queen suite because of the view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you so very much for selecting us to host your family reunion. I am so glad everyone had a wonderful time and enjoyed our rooms and staff. We are very grateful for your business and would love to welcome you all back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#63 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop

Property: Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Address: 320 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-3705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Family Hotel in Chicago
#45 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the award-winning Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue Chicago. Located in the heart of downtown Chicago on North Michigan Avenue. Select from a range of beautifully designed studio, one- and two-bedroom downtown Chicago suites featuring nearly twice the space of the typical hotel room at a better value. Spacious and distinctly contemporary, each Chicago hotel suite blends the full range of guest amenities and services with an upscale residential feel and sweeping downtown views. Enjoy home-style comforts such as full kitchens, washers and dryers, complimentary high-speed Internet, and flat panel LCD televisions. Outside, the Windy City's best shopping, dining, and entertainment - including the famed Magnificent Mile - are just steps from our front door. Venture out and explore all that makes up our extraordinary city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Chicago
Comfort Suites Chicago
Chicago Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing