We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always well taken care of...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Ranked #51 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
cincinnati
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Always well taken care of...”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

When I travel to Chicago this sis the only place I will stay. I have had some difficult times traveling to this large city over the past four years. When I found this Comfort Suites things became easier. They remembered me. The staff always makes me feel welcomed and well taken care of.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssssscincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for your repeat business and for your kind words. We value our loyal guests and are always here to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,091
    514
    142
    40
    36
See reviews for
595
487
89
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Revere, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2011

My husband & I have stayed at the Comfort Suites on many occasions
The most recent being Aug 6th & Aug 18th&19th
The staff is very helpful & friendly
the suites are always clean & very comfortable
the location is fantastic and it's a great value
Next time we are in Chicago that's where we'll stay
Mr & Mrs S

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aldela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Mr. and Mrs. S. I loved reading your review and am so glad you continue to visit us and that you find our hotel to be a gem with great staff and a great location. We cannot wait to welcome you both back. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2011

I have stayed in Chicago many, many times. I have paid for more expensive and less expensive hotels. This hotel hands down gave me the best value for my money. I was there with my husband and two adult children. The rooms are very large, I had at least three closets, one HUGE closet with a safe, a full size kitchen and a great view of Michigan Ave and the river! Location, location, location! This place is in the middle of everything. The room was clean when we arrived, check in took two minutes if that. Our shower pressure was not real good (3 girls with long hair :/). I told the clerk at the front desk and they immediately showed up at my door with a new showerhead! (yes!). That solved that problem! Toilet flushes good, sink was slow to drain. (Sorry I'm a girl I notice everything!).
We were on the 22nd floor, heard NO noise at all from inside or outside. There are only 5 or 6(?) rooms per floor, hallway is small, so you don't have a ton of people walking outside your door (in fact I never heard anybody). Breakfast was good, if you're picky you probably won't be crazy about it but you will find something you'll eat as there was always fresh fruit, yogurt, and oatmeal in addition to the make-your-own waffles and eggs(fake??, not sure)/bacon or sausage.
Did I mention the washer and dryer in the room, this was GREAT. I didn't have to pack as much, I brought some laundry soap from home and did laundry while there (cool!).
When we woke up on the last day there was a receipt of the bill under the door (sweet!), check-out was just setting my hotel key cards on the desk as we walked out the door, that's it. Free internet in the room, they provide the ethernet cord (it's not wireless), I had brought my own ethernet cord but didn't need it. I've already made reservations for my daughter who is returning in a few months for another visit. The ONLY improvement I would make is changing the curtains in the room to black-out curtains (cuz I like to sleep in just a little :)). Don't hesitate on this one, you'll be glad you didn't.

Room Tip: I asked for a room with a view of river when I checked in and got it. Don't forget you're la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
I am so grateful for your business and review, I very much enjoyed reading your comments. I thank you for booking a reservation for your daughter and we will take wonderful care of her. Whenever coming back to Chicago please contact me directly to make your arrangements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

The hotel was very accommodating to all our needs. It was centrally located to all transportation and within walking distance of lots of activities. The staff was fantastic. Convention that I was attending was .4 of a mile and our accommodations were a much better deal than even the convention rates for the hotel where the convention was being held. If I'm ever in Chicago again I plan on staying at the Comfort Suites on North Michigan Avenue.

Room Tip: The suite was spacious and very clean. I especially liked the availability of the washer/dryer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbking111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you for selecting us to host your during your convention. I am glad you found great value at our hotel and that you enjoyed the location and washer/dryer. We cannot wait to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Never, I repeat, never, have I ever experienced the personal attention I received at this hotel. The director of sales (Patrick) and sales manager (Kristina) went over and above to make sure that my stay was the best it could be. I was upgraded to a 2 BR suite and they bought me tickets to a Cubs game (which I reimbursed them). Their willingness to help plan my days were unparalleled.

This hotel is a tremendous value, considering its ideal location on Michigan Avenue and its price which includes a small breakfast.

I recommend it without any reservation.

Room Tip: Simply ask Patrick Kennedy, the director of sales
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gocelts1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you Jeff for your kind words and for your business. It was a joy helping you and your family plan your Chicago trip, both Kristina and I would like to have you all come back and visit us again next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Perhaps my expectations were a little too high after reading glowing reviews here and on Yelp but I thought this hotel was merely satisfactory. We stayed here a few weeks ago while we were in town for a wedding and although I was not expecting luxury (it is a Comfort Inn after all), I was definitely expecting it to be one of the nicest Comfort Inns I've stayed in, and I don't think it was.

Location: Location really can't be beat - in the loop, on Michigan Ave, near the river and Near North Side. This is one of the primary benefits of the hotel.

Rooms: Although the rooms are all suites, they are not much bigger than a standard hotel room (it looked like a normal hotel room but with a wall between the bed and couch). I think the room would be fantastic if you are staying for a week or more, because it includes a fridge, microwave, mini-stove and washer/dryer. As a family, you could definitely save quite a bit of money by not having to go out for every meal. HOwever, we were only in the city for a couple days and wanted to go out to eat, so we didn't take advantage of any of the extended stay features. I also thought the room looked a bit dated. While it was perfectly clean, they were some stains on fabric and scratches on appliances or furniture so it didn't look super modern. We were on the 10th floor and had no view to speak of (a tiny slice of river, but mostly parking garages).

Breakfast Buffet: This hotel includes a complimentary continental breakfast and even though the selection is similar to most other Comfort Inns (make-your-own waffles, eggs, toast, muffins) I found the quality not that great.

Staff: The staff was pretty friendly and was very helpful in recommending a nice beach within walking distance. They did give us incomplete directions when we asked how to get to the airport on the El.

Misc:
-Internet was free and worked very well (wifi & hookup)
-Elevators were very small and horrendously slow, which made getting up to the room a pain sometimes - its hard to walk up 10 flights of stairs!
-Hotel is totally smoke-free, which is awesome!!
-No pool :(

Bottom line: We had a perfectly pleasant stay here, but I think you can probably get an equally nice room for less money ($170 per night on a summer weekend with a AAA rate), especially if you're not super concerned with location (we wanted to be within walking distance of the wedding venue).

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ahm5885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for sharing your review and for your business. While I am sorry you did not have the experience most of our guests do, I am glad you enjoyed our location and staff. We do hope you will try us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in July for 2 nights, coming straight from the airport on the Blue line we found the hotel not too bad to walk to from the station and it was so close to everything we didn't need a car until we left Chicago, the only time we needed to use the train was to get to the Cubs game. The suite was huge and had everything we could possibly need, including a washer and dryer, and we had a wonderful view from the 24th floor of the river and Michigan Avenue. To give a balanced review, the only down side was the internet, which was barely accessible from our room. Breakfast was typical of free breakfasts everywhere, and we bought our own healthier fruit option, but having said that we don't choose a hotel on the quality of its breakfast, or even its internet service, and next time we visit Chicago, this hotel will be our first choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanH775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
I'm so glad we will be your first choice of hotel when returning back to Chicago. I am glad you enjoyed your view, room and our services. Please come back soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#66 of 190 in Chicago
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 190 in Chicago
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop

Property: Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Address: 320 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-3705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Family Hotel in Chicago
#45 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the award-winning Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue Chicago. Located in the heart of downtown Chicago on North Michigan Avenue. Select from a range of beautifully designed studio, one- and two-bedroom downtown Chicago suites featuring nearly twice the space of the typical hotel room at a better value. Spacious and distinctly contemporary, each Chicago hotel suite blends the full range of guest amenities and services with an upscale residential feel and sweeping downtown views. Enjoy home-style comforts such as full kitchens, washers and dryers, complimentary high-speed Internet, and flat panel LCD televisions. Outside, the Windy City's best shopping, dining, and entertainment - including the famed Magnificent Mile - are just steps from our front door. Venture out and explore all that makes up our extraordinary city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Chicago
Comfort Suites Chicago
Chicago Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing