We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like the movies;)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Union Station

Union Station
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just like the movies;)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

Decided to go into the station itself and was amazed by yet another gorgeous piece of architecture...I could spend all day writing a review for each of the beautiful designs you pass by so many of the buildings...

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Simone J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    248
    126
    31
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Level Contributor
183 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Easy to navigate and easy to walk to from most areas of downtown. This classic building sings with organized chaos of commuters and day trippers. Stop and sit in the great hall for a few minutes to take it all in.

Helpful?
Thank siestaclaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
109 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Waiting for resurrection”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

Because of asbestos prblems, the main station house has been left empty for more than a decade. Now it is asbestos free and heading into a new life as the planned hub of city/inner-city transportation. Amtrak is moving its offices back into the building and the waiting room is recieving new life. The classic building is coming back to life.

Helpful?
2 Thank shallow_shoals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Thank Goodness for the Met Lounge!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

This is a busy but beautiful station and it is totally decorated for the holidays! We felt very comfortable walking around the station and safe - even with the hustle and bustle! We were waiting for our Amtrak train - the Capitol Lmtd. (wish we could review THAT experience!), and had a couple of hours to kill before our train. We left the station after wandering about to buy some carmex and chapstick (and snacks for the overnighter to DC), there is a convenient Walgreens just across the street - and with enough time we could have taken the kids to the Sears Tower - it's literally 'right there'. Really REALLY cold though. The station was warm and cozy. But again BUSY so mind you're children and your belongings, I can see how it'd be very wasy to lose one or the other!

A very interesting thing is taking the old marble stairs out (or into) of the building - they are totally worn on either side by the hand rail and have deep grooves, so watch your step with this anomaly! Oh and it immediately smells like popcorn when you walk back in!

We were really grateful for the Metropolitan Lounge - where we could store our bags and wander. All in all we'll be back through! Check out the gorgeous Christmas Trees they have up for the holidays I've shared - it's my husband and our kids on our American Train Travel Sojourn. Follow me on Twitter too! @mControl

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank mControl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Classy and Still Bustling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

For those folks who are old style and still love trains, this is a must visit experience. The shops, they're not very special. The crowds, they are downright busy with both commuters and travelers; but the architecture and the marble, the refinement of an era long since past, and the feel of a living breathing central station is something any fanatic of trains will adore.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank tonethetiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Station also viewed

 

Been to Union Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing