We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Luxe Home Boutiques”
Review of Merchandise Mart

Merchandise Mart
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.22*
and up
Walking Tour Along Chicago's Riverwalk
More Info
$33.60*
and up
Chicago Architecture River Cruise
More Info
$650.00*
and up
Private Guided SUV Tour for up to 4 Guests
Ranked #102 of 649 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest commercial building in the world. First two floors are essentially a mall, and the rest is business offices.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Luxe Home Boutiques”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I are shopping for fixtures and furnishings and we found everything we could ever want - and more at the Luxe Home boutiques. It's the first floor of Merchandise Mart, and the only one open to the public. We visited on a Saturday and arrived shortly after their opening at 10am. I would definitely recommend arriving early as some boutiques close earlier than the stated 3pm.

We found helpful (non-pushy) advisors at the Kohler, Ann Sacks, Remains Lighting, Waterworks, Brizio, and pretty much every other boutique. All were fantastic and all provided inspiration.

Because we were from out of town, we inquired of shipping and virtually everyone was able to accomodate (including stone). This resource should be used by anyone in the midwest that is building, remodeling, or updating. We will definitely be returning.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    45
    18
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beloit, WI
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Used to be 5 star but losing showrooms by over charging...not good!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

WE have for years come down to the Chicago Mart to place our orders and attend the sample sales. AS of Spring of 2012, most of the showrooms told us they were going out. WE were completely shocked and dismayed at the news. There was a fall sample sale arranged for Nove.
of 2012 so we went. It's absolutely heartbreaking to watch what was once thriving floors of gift showrooms have gone to one floor and that isn't even full of gift showrooms.
The security was much more lax than in the past. It seems as though it is an end of an era for the gift lines. Kurt Adler and DNA seem to be the only ones going strong and I hope they continue. The food court as usual was good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank jv50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“kitchen design”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

SPecifically interested in viewing kitchens. This did not disappoint. Good staring point for ideas (after looking at houzz.com)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank switfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“I love it”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

This place is so so so so so so so fun its huge and so fun to be in its amazing it is its so totally amazing

Helpful?
Thank Lia T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paw Paw, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A delight for the eyes and mind”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

If you ever have trouble thinking of what do do in your living space, take a walk through here. There are so many ideas. One of the best places was Direct Rug Imports which offers beautiful Persian, Indian, and Turkish rugs. Quality is from wool to silk. There are new and antique rugs available is a variety of sizes and styles. We ended up getting one and having it shipped to us. We are delighted. The owner, Amir, was very helpful in instructing us as to how to know what we were looking at as to style, dye process, country of origin, and thread count.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ginger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merchandise Mart also viewed

 

Been to Merchandise Mart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing