We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Vibe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Jones

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Jones
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

My friend and I stayed at Holiday Jones for five nights. This was both of our first hostel experience so we didn't quite know what to expect. The place was clean and well decorated. The place had a very friendly vibe, but was kept pretty quiet allowing for rest when you wanted it. We enjoyed going out in the neighborhood with some of the other women in our room. The hostel is located near a lot of great restaurants and bars. The staff was also very courteous and helpful. If I am ever in Chicago again, this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    274
    59
    24
    14
See reviews for
105
114
279
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We had stayed in Chicago for four days last month. The clerks are really nice people and the hotel equipments are good enough.And it very convenient for subway because the station is almost nearby. Nice journey~

Room Tip: 206 is not bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 敏 叶
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stayed a night at Holiday Jones and didn't know what to expect; for the very low price of a bed in a female bedroom, I was very pleased that when I had arrived, I noticed the decór and the cleanliness was impeccable.

Aside from the decór and cleanliness being on point - the most important person that made me want to visit Holiday jones again, was Ryan. He took time to engage with not only myself, in the cafeteria, but invited four other hostel guests out to a bar

Even one guest that joined us for drinks continued to state she was upset her flight was delayed, and had to stay at a hostel for the first time.

After having gone out for drinks with the other guests and put host Ryan, she gloated about wanting to come back to Chicago for the welcoming invitation she had received by the guests and our accomadating host.

TJ also is another employee and host that was great, and eventually shared drinks with Ryan and myself the next morning!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ValerieNYC95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Location is near the underground train and is very since money. The only down fall was by the time I took a shower in the morning the water was freezing. Time your showers well! I was pleased that the common bathrooms were one person only. The common area was great and had a kitchen so you can bring food and save money. Overall I loved the atmosphere, location, and rooms. I will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tzeh86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

It was a pleasure experience for me and for wife to stay in the hotel room, the room and bed were extremely clean. The menu of the breakfast was nutritious and services were also prompt.It is also close to many cloth shops. I should be grateful to the management for providing prompt cab service.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jayaram g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

I've stayed at Holiday Jones twice, once with friends and once alone. The hostel is in a good location with tons of restaurants nearby, but you will have to take a train into the city. Rooms & beds are clean, but the blankets are thin, pillows flat, and towels small. The doors don't close completely so you'll hear everything that goes on in the hallway, & the window coverings don't block much light. Although the stated time of 8 am is way too late for breakfast, I was able to get food earlier than that--a big plus for a busy traveller! One other note--our 4 bed private room had 2 bunk beds and little else. It would have been nice to have a chair or space to hang out.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneSmithhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

After an epic roadtrip from San Diego, California to Chicago, Illinois and staying in various accomodations ranging from a friend's apartment floor, inns, hotels and motels (some creepier than others), this was the one and only hostel on the trip. It was great! Also my first time at a motel. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The rooms were adequate, clean and the beds were fine. Breakfast was nice too. The decor is very trendy and located in a trendy area. Very near the metro station and bus stop, nice little boutiques and cool bars nearby. It felt like our stuff was safe in the rooms and the shared bathrooms and toilets were very clean too!
The ONLY thing I think could be improved upon is the sound insulation on the doors. People waking up at 6am - you're GONNA hear them!
Overall GREAT place! Picked up a few business cards of theirs because I'd recommend it to anyone thinking of going to Chicago wanting to avoid hundreds on a hotel.
Thank you Holiday Jones.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank s_alzuria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Town
Urban Holiday Lofts
Urban Holiday Lofts
#4 of 57 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hostelling International Chicago
Lincoln Park
Chicago Getaway Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Jones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Jones

Property: Holiday Jones
Address: 1659 W Division St, Chicago, IL 60622-3810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Northwest Side , West Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Holiday Jones 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Jones is located in the heart of Chicago's popular Wicker Park neighborhood. Trendy restaurants, bars, and boutiques are right outside our door. Only a block away from the Division Blue Line train station, Holiday Jones is minutes away from the city's top attractions and is easily accessible from O'Hare airport. Stay with us, and Stay like a Native in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Jones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing