We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb value and such a good place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Jones

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Jones
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Superb value and such a good place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed here with 5 friends, had our own room with bathroom! What a time we had, really near everything, food, drink, clubs, subway to centre. Have already recommended friends to stay here.
Really friendly staff, loved it !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    274
    59
    24
    14
See reviews for
105
114
279
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Very clean new hostel in a great area right near very cool suburb outside downtown Chicago. Staff all very helpful and friendly. Bathrooms and communal spaces all nice. Kitchen very well equipped. Breakfast is basic but satisfying, bagels , spreads and cereals. Washing facilities for laundry and also near laundromat. Perfect for all public transport to get anywhere. Still looks a bit sparse inside because it is so new but this is certainly not a problem!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danigross88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here in december, the place was great, is modern with great music at the reception.
We had a shared bathroom and it was always really clean, comfortable beds and nice rooms (small but comfortable), the location is great too, is close to the CTA and in a great neighborhood for eating shopping or walk around I felt safe all the time, it takes about 10-15 to downtown.
It is a great price for the services they offer, and includes breakfast, and free post cards, it really feels like you are at someones aparment, and also is great to have a kitchen and laudry for the guests.
I wouldn't stay there with little children or babies, but it's great for a family with older kids.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank priscila687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

This hostel is the place to be. The decor is hip and the whole place has a cool, young vibe. Love all the tiny details they've put in to make this hostel stand out. This place has opened recently and even the locals are curious about what Holiday Jones is all about.

As with most first time travelers to Chicago, everyone is concerned about SAFETY. Being the murder capital of the US people spend hours trying to find an area that's safe to stay in. Well look no further, the Division district is absolutely safe and there was not one second where I felt I was in danger.

However, their breakfast offering needs to be improved. Only cold cereal and bagels are served. Milk often runs out, so you have to be in quick - their breakfast closes at 10am. They literally appear at 10 on the dot and clears everything on the table, even if you're still making your breakfast. One morning I got to the kitchen at around 9:50am. Couldn't find any milk so I walked up to the reception and asked for more milk. The male staff there told me he'd get some, but 5 seconds later he said, "You know what, it's 10 already so I won't". Which I thought was a bit strange.

Special mention to the lady at the reception, extremely friendly and helpful. Well done!

Room Tip: Choose a room that's closer to a bathroom so you can dive straight in when it's free , they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheTravelBugNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

This hostel was great for people that plan on spending more time out that in the room. Provides all the essentials, no frills, but very comfortable. Very clean, plenty of bathrooms, full kitchen and hanging out space downstairs. Noise was not a problem for us. Area did not seem unsafe, but there is always someone at the front desk and you have to have a key or get buzzed in to even get in the building. We had no problems with the Wi-Fi and were able to watch Netflix in our room. Breakfast was provided, no big frills, but got the job done. Staff was beyond friendly and very willing to give their knowledge of Chicago. Subway station was about ten minutes away walking distance. Lots of restaurants, stores, and bars on the same street. Booking was easy but I would suggest booking on the phone rather than online. Also was very nice that we were allowed to leave our things locked up when we went out for our last day. Would not suggest staying if you plan on spending a lot of time in the hotel room.

Room Tip: -Make sure you specify what kind of bed you want if it is a private room. Wanted a queen bed but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAssi5001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

There are a ton of pubs and bars in the area if this is you scene. I was traveling on work so I was just looking for a cheap place to get a night's rest. Everything was new and in good shape. Also, one of the cleanest hostels I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitzroy Crossing, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

On a college exchange in the US from Australia and took advantage of my fall break to spend 4 days in Chicago. The hostel is in a perfect spot! Only a short train/bus ride away from downtown and very easy to get to other tourist spots around Chicago.
Staff were really friendly and the brochure of things to do around the Wicker Park area given to you on arrival was very helpful. Rooms and lockers were a good size. Beds weren't squeaky and the linen was super clean with your bed already made up for you with a towel included. Bathrooms are new and modern which was a nice change from other grungy hostel bathrooms I've had to use in the past.

The hostel was overall very clean and apart from some drilling in the morning (the hostel isn't quite finished…) noise was never an issue. Wifi was also really fast and never cut out on me/lagged even during Skype chats.

As a young women travelling by myself I felt really safe in the Wicker Park area at night by myself and you don't have to walk far to find somewhere to eat/pick up groceries.

Overall, a really enjoyable stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelaidef19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#69 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
West Town
Urban Holiday Lofts
Urban Holiday Lofts
#4 of 57 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hostelling International Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Jones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Jones

Property: Holiday Jones
Address: 1659 W Division St, Chicago, IL 60622-3810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Northwest Side , West Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Holiday Jones 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Jones is located in the heart of Chicago's popular Wicker Park neighborhood. Trendy restaurants, bars, and boutiques are right outside our door. Only a block away from the Division Blue Line train station, Holiday Jones is minutes away from the city's top attractions and is easily accessible from O'Hare airport. Stay with us, and Stay like a Native in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Jones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing