We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Grace” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grace

Grace
Reserve with OpenTable
Grace is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #115 of 9,466 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $185 - $300
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: West Loop
Cross street: Des Plaines
Transit: The closest CTA El stop is the Clinton Green stop. Head west on Lake Street to Des Plaines and go south (left) to Randolph. Turn right; Grace will be on the right. Accessible CTA bus routes in the area are the 56 Milwaukee, 20 Madison, 14 Jeffery Express & 8 Halsted. Also nearby is the Metra Ogilvie Station.
Description: Grace, the highly anticipated restaurant from acclaimed chef Curtis Duffy, opened late 2012 in the Randolph Street area, just west of downtown Chicago. The subtle elegance of the dining room provides a comfortably luxurious setting in which to enjoy Chef Duffy's Progressive American cuisine, offered in a tasting menu format. In addition to the dining room, a private dining space to accommodate up to 12 is available, as well as a lounge for a pre- or post-dinner drink. Grace looks forward to welcoming you.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
154 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Amazing Grace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was an enchanted evening from the beginning (the car parkers were pleasant and friendly) to the (the menu copy to take home), this was a spectacular evening. Each course was a visual delight. The flavors grew as you got further into the dish. Tasted many new things, in inventive combinations. Service was friendly, sure and not stuffy. Good descriptions of each course as they arrived, and clear answers to questions at the beginning. The room got a little loud as it filled up (we started at 6:00 p.m.) but was still conversation friendly.

An altogether outstanding experience and we will be back, soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mudge828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    22
    16
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Elegant: May Have Eaten Endangered Species”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Okay, so I admit it... I'm not usually at such swanky places. I'm just as happy eating in a dingy, authentic dive restaurants where mom cooks, dad keeps the books, daughter serves and kids sit at a near by table with homework and smartphones. Grace was indeed a departure from my typical dining experience. With that qualifier...
Grace was indeed the most elegant meal I've ever had the pleasure to eat. The entire evening was an experience rather than just a meal.
The service was incredible. Friendly, knowledgeable, and just the right touch of sarcasm to make you feel like you're dealing with a real human being; not a snobby robot. The timing of the service was impeccable and although we were there from 9pm until almost 1am I never once even cared to glance at my watch.
The food really is fantastic. I order the Fauna and the entire meal was delightful. The chef blends flavor, texture, and varied temperatures on the plate perfectly and the presentation of each dish was an absolute work of art. We opted for the wine pairing to accompany or meal, and each match-up seemed more appropriate than the next.
A dining partner ordered the flora menu and was kind enough to trade bites with me for each dish. I do believe, although I am a meat enthusiast, that hers may have actually been the better of the two overall meals. Either choice is great, and I can almost guarantee I ate at least 1 endangered species ;)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank elbowgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
122 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A wonderful anniversary meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We love good food but we've had visits to top-price restaurants that have left us wondering why we didn't go to someplace simpler and tastier. Grace is a joy, worth every penny of the high price. The food was perfect -- inventive without being cute. The service was impeccable -- with not a hint of snobbery. We are a little older and wanted to share the flight of wines -- no problem. We felt loved and cared for. The tour of the kitchen was the icing on the cake. Can't wait for our next anniversary. (or maybe the birthday before that). Meanwhile we have our take home chocolate bars.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sallyws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Grace starts out flawless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Our dinner at Grace was the highlight of our culinary trip to Chicago. From the beginning with those 4 unique bites to the ending of our tasting journey. The service and wine pairing were in alignment with the quality of Chef Duffy's creativity. It made us all wonder and crave for the next seasonal menu or even to try his flora tasting next time. When can we make another culinary trip to Chicago and put Grace on that list again. Very soon!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago,il
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“welcome the new four star spot in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Grace is a very special restaurant from the reservation to the last bite. The food & service is on par with A Le Bernadin or A Eleven Madison Park in New York. The whole first class experience starts after you make the reservation.They call you the morning of the reservation to see if there are any food concernes.The food and the presentation was just incredible. Part of the mission of Grace is to seek out all these specialty purveyors and this in turn only enhances the whole dining experience. I had selections from the Chef Duffys' Tasting menu so it is hard to pick a favorite. The highlights were the Carrot, Sunchoke, Cauliflower, Poached Chestnut, Roasted Pumpkin.The Chef sent over samplings he selected for us. Also, the dessert was equally as good the essert is served in three parts Keep in mind these are small plate portions but the portion size and presentation are more appreciated by the size.The tour of the kitchen was insightful and inforamative about the level of focus and detail each plats has been given

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rbmusic50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grace also viewed

 

Been to Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing