We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Chicago, Liked the Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AC Hotel Chicago Downtown
Ranked #65 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved Chicago, Liked the Hotel”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

A nice four star hotel with two very comfortable double beds, and unusually, a large sitting area with room for a 2 seat sofa and a coffee table. And this was in a standard room.

Good location just west of Michigan ave, although I found the area inside the loop more interesting. You can walk all over downtown Chicago easily from the hotel.

My favorite activity was the walking tour given by the Chicago Architecture Institute, highly recommended.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fourpointschicago, Front Office Manager at AC Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Adrian M,

Thank you so much for your glowing review of the Four Points by Sheraton Chicago Downtown. I truly appreciate your gracious comments and I am very pleased that you found the room so accommodating! It sounds like you had a full trip to Chicago. Please come back and see us again soon!

Sincerely,
Jared Hassler, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    546
    145
    41
    31
See reviews for
351
325
85
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We came here for a girls weekend.

1st complaint...There were 33 of us and we booked really far in advance but 3 rooms from the group were on a different floor which made the whole girls weekend a bit disjointed.

2nd complaint... Our room was dirty the floor was wet (but they did everything to fix it and were really great about it & we took the wet room since we wanted to be on the same floor as the rest of the group) Our duvet covers were dirty but they were changed quickly and the bathroom could have used another once over.

3rd complaint.... The pool & hot tub - yuck - heated pool... I think not... It was freezing and I swim in lakes in Canada and they are for the most part - warmer. The Hot Tub was burning my eyes out with the amount of chemicals in it. It was warm at best and the tub was old and peeling - It made me feel like I was in a giant pot and I was about to be cooked up for supper.

Ok now for the positive stuff... This is what moved it up from a 3 to a 4

The staff - super great - friendly - wonderfully helpful - A+++

The location - AWESOME!!!! Not far from anything that you might want to do in Chicago. There is a parking garage at the hotel too for those who drive in. Trader Joes and Starbucks is around the corner.

The other good stuff was that they give you bottled water - a plus, there are mini fridges, microwaves and safes in your room. The rooms are fairly large with a good size seating area.

Overall - this is a perfectly located downtown property that is in desperate need of a makeover. The staff do a great job and if you are like me and just use your hotel to sleep in - it is perfect.

I felt safe at the hotel and I would recommend it and go back if I visit Chicago again.

Room Tip: 5th floor is where the pool and meeting rooms are located. Parking is off the 4th floor. So if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momee3021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fourpointschicago, Front Office Manager at AC Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear momee3021,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Four Points by Sheraton Chicago Downtown. I am so happy to hear your nice comments about our staff. We certainly do try hard. I have addressed your concerns with the pool area with our Chief Engineer, he will fix the temperature issue. I have also spoken with our Housekeeping Manager, thank you for bringing these concerns to my attention. I will be sure to pass on all of your positive comments as well. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Chicago!

Sincerely,
Jared Hassler, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Once we had realised we were at the wrong Grand station (chose the wrong line!) we soon found the hotel. Given a good-sized room but no welcoming gift that my status entitles me to. Also, around the hotel are various other "offers", none of which were mentioned to us. Room was fine. Breakfast pretty standard.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Duck_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fourpointschicago, Front Office Manager at AC Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Travel_Duck_UK,

Thank you for your review of the Four Points by Sheraton Chicago Downtown. I am pleased that you found the room comfortable. I apologize that we did not offer you your SPG Welcome Gift. If you contact me at the Hotel I will be sure to have your points credited. Thank you again, we hope to see you next time.

Sincerely,
Jared Hassler, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great if your looking for a place that is super central to downtown Chicago and the price that you are booking it for works with your budget... however the hotel is only ok... the rooms are kind of dark and they are nothing special, I have stayed at other Four Points and have had really nice rooms, these rooms are great for sleeping and then heading out to see the city. The front desk staff is not very helpful, they are not un polite they just don't really care. However, the two door mans are AWESOME! They are sooo nice and super helpful, ask them questions they are great!

Room Tip: Don't get a corner room, I got a corner room and it was super super dark!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fourpointschicago, Front Office Manager at AC Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear patricia m,

Thank you for your review of the Four Points by Sheraton Chicago Downtown. I am very pleased that you found the doormen so accomodating and that you found the hotel to be a good homebase for your trips around the city. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Chicago!

Sincerely,
Jared Hassler, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san Jose
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We really liked this hotel. The room and bathroom have a good size. Very clean, and good service. FREE WIFI on your room. Complimentary bottle of water, coffee maker, and also has a small refrigerator. Staff was great. Excellent location!

Negative; air condition was not working properly. At night, at some point the room gets very warm and suddenly gets very cold. I have noticed this same problem at other Four Points locations, it seems the a/c just turns off on the middle of the night, and turns on automatically in the morning.
I had like more light on the room, it has no ceiling light, just on the lamps on the nightable.
It has a bakery next door, although a little expensive and not good. You cannot sign the tab to your room.

Room Tip: Would stay here again for sure!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beahoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fourpointschicago, Front Office Manager at AC Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear beahoy,

Thank you for your review of the Four Points by Sheraton Chicago Downtown! I am very happy that you found our staff so helpfull. I have mentioned your concerns about the A/C in your room to our Chief Engineer and he is addressing this. Thank you again, we hope to see you on your next trip to Chicago.

Sincerely,
Jared Hassler, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Did what it said on the tin... The hotel was clean and room was huge. Far bigger than we needed.

The cost was reasonable considering the area, it really is where you want to be if only visiting Chicago for a few days like we were. Although it was a little above what I wanted to pay you save in transport costs etc. and benefit from the excellent location.

Close to all the hotspots, walk to the beach, bit of a further walk to millennium park, extremely close to the best shops and the nearest metro stop. We saw all that we wanted of Chicago and didn't use public transport once! The Zoo, Millennium Park, the beaches, The Purple Pig, Old Town, Yolk, the Hancock Tower.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fourpointschicago, Front Office Manager at AC Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Will H,

Thank you for your recent review of the Four Points by Sheraton Chicago Downtown. It sounds like you really had a full trip to Chicago! We are very pleased that we were able to be such a great home base for your trips around town. We hope to see you next time you are in Chicago!

Sincerely,
Jared Hassler, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Arrived early to the hotel and was greeted by a very friendly front desk - she got us an early check-in and it was probably the quickest and easiest check-in experience I've ever had. Free wifi in the hotel and the location is close to everything. Great experience and a thumbs up to all the staff.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank undercovert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fourpointschicago, Front Office Manager at AC Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear undercovert,

Thank you for your great review of Four Points by Sheraton Chicago Downtown! I am very pleased that you had such a good arrival process. I am also pleased that you found our location so convenient to your travel needs. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff. Thank you again, we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Jared Hassler, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
The James Chicago
#43 of 189 in Chicago
3,208 reviews
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#8 of 189 in Chicago
237 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Chicago Downtown

Property: AC Hotel Chicago Downtown
Address: 630 N Rush St, Chicago, IL 60611-2748 (Formerly Hotel Rush)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#88 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — AC Hotel Chicago Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AC Hotels by Marriott offers travelers a stylish and design focused hotel experience. The AC Hotel Chicago Downtown is located in Chicago's River North neighborhood, a thriving community known for it's exceptional dining, night life and art scene. The AC Lounge, a great place for happy hour or night cap features local brews, craft cocktails and tap wine that highlight AC Hotels unique beverage menus. Elevate your stay with AC Hotels by Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your AC Hotel Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Chicago Downtown / Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
4 Points By Sheraton Chicago Downtown / Magnificent Mile
Four Points Chicago Downtown
Chicago Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing