We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such great staff, Great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Egg Cafe

West Egg Cafe
Ranked #3 of 344 Coffee & Tea in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Streeterville
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Such great staff, Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at the Ivy so this is right next to the hotel. Had breakfast here several times during our stay. Food was great, staff was so nice. We had a stomach bug on friday and decided to get breakfast here on Saturday since we hadn't eaten in a day. The waitress was so nice, we was concerned that we didn't eat that much and kept asking if everything was ok. We explained to her our situation and she so sweetly gave us to go cups filled with water, a straw and a lid. In this day and age, I appreciate excellent customer service and this place has it! I had an eggs benedict on Thursday that was amazing. My husband had lox and eggs and he enjoyed his meal too!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cardinals11312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    277
    87
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Was having trouble finding a breakfast spot near the Magnificent Mile when we found this place. Efficient friendly service, reasonable prices, good coffee and extensive menu. Pretty much all I asked for (except no peanut butter!).
Menu - a very big selection stretching to everything from a couple of eggs your way to any conceivable omellette or scrambled egg dish (egg whites or whole). My wife had a vegetarian omelette - I had Denver scrambled (Swiss cheese, green pepper, onion and ham in an egg white scramble). Portions are not niggardly but don't cause the table to collapse under excess carbs either - nice balance.
Coffee - I was expecting dish water in a bottomless cup. I drink it black, so I notice when the coffee is weak. It was a pretty good medium/full body coffee that I was quite prepared to sip all morning.
Service was friendly, fast and efficient. You pay at the front but tip your server directly at the table. High marks for breakfast or lunch. I didn't check their hours to see what they do at night (if they are open). Sorry.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SDtor273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great value and standard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed at the nearby Ivy Hotel and had breakfast here every morning. Great place to start the day - no frills but great quality and value, with friendly staff. It's the kind of place that's on every corner in New York but not so plentiful in Chicago.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maltonian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced breakfasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We ate here 2 different mornings, both breakfasts were very good. The line was very long on Saturday morning, but they move people in and out quickly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jlosensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Prepare to be stuffed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Great breakfast, large portions, reasonable prices. Just a block from the south end of the Magnificent Mile

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Egg Cafe also viewed

 

Been to West Egg Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing