We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again!”
Review of Chinatown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chinatown Hotel
Ranked #154 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never again!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I can deal with the tiny room, and all the dated hardware, but what completely ruined it for me was the paper thin walls and the loud obnoxious patrons. It's like they were partying in the hallways. I was booked for one more night but I'm getting the hell out of here, I need some damn sleep!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Xt390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    42
    61
    27
    50
See reviews for
14
49
26
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Where to begin...
While one of the least expensive hotels I could find on this particular weekend (booked late), it needs to be cheaper or free!! Hostles are way cleaner and have lots more to offer!!
Hair, scum and dirt in bathroom! Stained carpets.
No buckets for ice, no elevator, stained dirty hallway carpets, and furniture is like they picked it up from the dump...I can go on, but you should get the hint.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TkGer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The sheet did not fit around the mattress, the room was clean on first sight but hair in the sink and dust in the corners showed not the cleanness I expect in a hotel (even a cheap one). The shower regulator knob was loose (fell down), but the shower is nice (when you are passed the black spots -fungi- on the wall) warm and good pressure.

The bed is comfortable, the room small but effective. It is what you are looking for, I decided to spent more on a hotel (>$100) next time I am going to stay in Chicago. This $96, was not worth it.

The room was very warm (couldn't regulate it), the heating kept ticking and the street side was very noisy, during the late evening and in the early morning (garbage pick up).

Room Tip: Street side is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Birkebeiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I was looking for a hotel where I could get a two room suite at an economical price, close both to downtown and Hyde Park, and this hotel fit the bill. The bathroom was remodeled and clean, which was nice since the rest of the room was a little worn. Our stay did not produce any bad surprises; it is a budget hotel, but acceptably clean and in a good location. Just out the door there are many options for restaurants as well as bakeries for breakfast. It is also close to the White Sox ballpark and the very nice but not so well known Ping Tom Park by the river.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jwadem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Pros: Affordable rate for budget conscious travelers, near Metro station, about 2 stops from Downtown loop, nice n clean bathroom, free wifi, tv with cable, coffeemaker in the room but bring the coffee! I appreciate that the guy at the reception allowed us to check-in at 6am as our flight was quite early. I also like that its quiet and away from the city nightlife.

Cons: Room small although just right for sleeping in after a day's sightseeing, room was toooo cold but theres a portable heater wc we moved close to the bed for warmth, 2 very thin pillows provided, no ref, no microwave, no free breakfast, no elevator so we had to drag luggages up the stairs.

I think this is for people on a budget who wants to be close to downtown in a safe neighborhood. Not for those who wants a fancy hotel or those who wants to be in walking distance from the tourist attractions of downtown (the short ride is not that bad, though).

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JazzV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

As a sensual experience this hotel was at best dull, at worst it set the bottom of the range we stayed in for a two week vacation towards the bottom of the cost range for the US.

Nothing was nice, nothing was hideous, thats about the best I can say.

For the first time in my memory I woke due to the raw skin on my side where my weigh, the crumples on the under-sheet matress protector, and the hard matress had conspired to waken me from my normal deep slumber. Red raw crease marks - a novelty.

If you get a really cheap deal, and you can live with it, then it could be adequate. If its a hot date - avoid.

We knew we were taking a risk and we are adults, so no hard feelings, apart from my raw skin.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank CPHLN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

this hotel's service is very good and Chinese style.
I like it very much, and its room service is excellent.
If you want to study some Chinese life style, it is
a perfect choice. Walking on the street give
a good remainder of my family.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Changyong Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Chinatown
Jaslin Hotel
Jaslin Hotel
#134 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
South Loop
Wheeler Mansion
Wheeler Mansion
#141 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Amber Inn
#160 of 188 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chinatown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chinatown Hotel

Property: Chinatown Hotel
Address: 214 West 22nd Place, Chicago, IL 60616
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Chinatown , Southwest Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Chinatown Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Chicago's Chinatown, the Chinatown Hotel offers convenience at a low rate. We are 2 blocks away from the Chicago Subway station, 5 minute Taxi ride from The Loop, and 6 blocks away from McCormick Center. Our staff is fluent in Chinese and English, with 24 hour service available at the Front Desk. All our rooms come equipped with free Internet as well as Cable TV with English and Chinese channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Chinatown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chinatown Hotel Chicago
Chinatown Hotel Sro Ltd
Chicago Chinatown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing