We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better choice then I expected”
Review of Chinatown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chinatown Hotel
Ranked #157 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Better choice then I expected”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was looking for a cheap hotel in a walking distance from McCormick Centre and this one was a better choice then I expected according to the website. I appreciated the kids-friendly staff, free coffee and tea, possibility to use the fridge and microwave. The rooms were big, clean, although furniture seems old and used. But wifi ran quickly, TV at the room, many restaurants around. Unfortunately no elevator, bit noisy. But right on the red line of train. If you don't expect luxury, I would recommend that.

Room Tip: The bigger the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blodenwedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    42
    62
    29
    50
See reviews for
15
50
26
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Omg run unless you are used to living with roaches and run down, old EVERYTHING! This is place hotel furniture goes before the landfill. Very gracious about a quick refund and that was appreciated so 5 on service!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank turnthepage0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chicago hotels

new delhu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Unclean,unfriendly, rude staff, noisy rooms and absence of even basic amenities like effective room heating. Would advise everyone to stay away from this mousetrap of a hotel. Booked over internet and clearly dismayed by what I found. Suffered every minute of my stay here. Struggled with my heavy luggage since there were no lifts and had to haul my bags all the way to the second floor. Pulled a muscle in my shoulder as a result. Regret staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gyrus_rectus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 25, 2012

nice and close to the red line train and lots of great restaurants. small room but clean and well kept up. would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Clean, Average, safe hotel. I stayed for 2 days in 3rd floor on Aug 17 - 19.

Pros - Budget, around $75/day, Decent Location, Metro train is walkable, clean, private clean restroom, hot water, private A/C, safe, up to 1 am you will get food near by restaurants .

Cons - No lift, so if you have luggage it is tough, no break fast free, the bed is spring and makes noise if you turn,(I slept well as I was tired to my bones), the cot has wheel so take care not to keep any items near the cot legs, some folks may not like the smell as you enter your room however it goes off once your a/c is on. No fridge, you need to use the common fridge which i would not advice as i lost my food.

Room Tip: Choose the 1st or max 2nd floor as there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abdul1289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I took a lot of pictures of my room to detail my worst hotel nightmare and could provide it upon request. China Hotel firstly misleads customers with attractive pictures of their lobby on Hotels.com. The truth is this is a dirty and poorly maintained place. When I got to the hotel, I was sent to Room 201. When I entered the room, I felt like puking right away. My bed sheet was dirty and old, the bathroom floor was all but scrapped, the TV is an old analog with no remote, only two channels to be watched. So I asked to be relocated. I then was sent to room 207. With a sense of relief, I got to that room: it was stinking, toilet water was leaking, the whole carpet was wet with a strong smell. I raced back to the lobby with my luggage and convinced the gentleman in attendance to come visit the room with me. When he entered, he held his nose and took me to Room 305. While room 305 was decent, the carpet had stains of blood or feces or chocolate on it, the bed sheet was frown, there are electric wires hanging from the ceiling. Defeated and tired, I settled here for the night but ran away at 9:00 Am to another hotel. The management of this hotel gave me the sense that they did not care what you need or want. They just made you feel that you have a great location near downtown. Any one who pays $85.00 should not be treated like this. Please stay away from China Hotel if you want a minimum of comfort and customer service!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The website is misleading. Standard room comes with one bed and is very small. The decor is tacky and the room had several holes in the wall and was in desperate need of updating.

Was initially planning on staying 4 nights, but immediately cancelled the remaining three days and booked somewhere else.

This place resembles an old rooming house that is shady and on the wrong side of town. I slept with my clothes on and would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DJWONGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Chinatown
Jaslin Hotel
Jaslin Hotel
#132 of 190 in Chicago
64 reviews
South Loop
Wheeler Mansion
Wheeler Mansion
#143 of 190 in Chicago
112 reviews
Amber Inn
#161 of 190 in Chicago
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chinatown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chinatown Hotel

Property: Chinatown Hotel
Address: 214 West 22nd Place, Chicago, IL 60616
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Chinatown , Southwest Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Chinatown Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Chicago's Chinatown, the Chinatown Hotel offers convenience at a low rate. We are 2 blocks away from the Chicago Subway station, 5 minute Taxi ride from The Loop, and 6 blocks away from McCormick Center. Our staff is fluent in Chinese and English, with 24 hour service available at the Front Desk. All our rooms come equipped with free Internet as well as Cable TV with English and Chinese channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Chinatown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chinatown Hotel Chicago
Chinatown Hotel Sro Ltd
Chicago Chinatown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing