We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Diamond in the Rough” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Standard Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Standard Club
Ranked #136 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfort, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Diamond in the Rough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

I recently attended a wedding here, and had the opportunity to stay over. After reading some of the reviews, I was a little apprehensive. Boy, was I wrong! Sure, this building is old, and it needs some attention. But once you look past that, and see the beauty of its history and the graciousness of its staff, I'm sure you'll be pleasantly surprised like I was. The room we stayed in was very spacious - AND had a beautiful, unobstructed view. The bed was comfortable - much more than some of the places I've stayed in. Yes, the carpet and drapes were old and in need of replacing. But overall, I would stay here again in a heartbeat! The staff was helpful, professional and polite; the food was outstanding; the location is GREAT! And at no time did I feel uneasy or in danger of being mugged while out after dark. They may not have all the perks of some of the newer hotels in the area; but then again, those newer places also don't have the history or charm of the Standard Club.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubManagerChicago, Manager at The Standard Club, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you so much. Your feedback is so important to us, we know it takes time to leave a review and appreciate your comments. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a special location for life events such as weddings and our whole team takes great pride in being in part of these very special occasions. Being just one block from State St. we have many great attractions and wonderful shopping close to hand. I will definitely pass your comments on to our staff it is always so nice to share this feedback with them. We do know that some items in the room need updating and are currently looking at these projects. In the meantime, we do have some of the largest rooms of Hotels and Clubs close by and enjoy unobstructed views on both sides of the building. Thank you again and I hope we get the chance to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    23
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
13
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I spent three days at the Standard Club. I was in town for a conference. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. The room was very comfortable and clean. The hotel is in walking distance of many city attractions. I took advantage of the very nice pool and exercise room during my stay. I also ate at the restaurant and the food was excellent. Thanks again to the very pleasant staff. They really provided great customer service and made my stay very enjoyable. I would stay at this hotel again and recommend it to my family and friends. Great staff, great price and great location!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubManagerChicago, Manager at The Standard Club, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Standard Club. Being a private club our staff take pride in taking time to get to know all our members and guests and making sure they enjoy their stay with us. It is so good to hear that you enjoyed the service here. We are situated in a great location, walking distance to both the business district and many of the city’s favorite attractions such as Millennium Park, Grant Park, the Chicago River and our wonderful lakefront. We also have fabulous shopping close at hand as we are just one block from State Street. I am also glad you had a chance to enjoy our restaurant. We are renowned throughout Chicago for our food and take great pride in our historic dining room. Your comments are very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great location and great service-reasonable prices. Our double bed room was large and clean but smelled old and musty. Several things were repaired during our 3 night stay. The bathroom also emits an odor of old pipes. It is a grand old building fitting to Chicago history but with that comes just plain "old"
We did not eat there. It definitely needs some money and upgrades but then the prices will go up also.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubManagerChicago, Manager at The Standard Club, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It is always so good for our staff to receive positive feedback. We take your comments very seriously and are checking into the odor you mentioned. Our rooms are larger but more classic than some of our competitors. We are however gradually making upgrades to enhance our product. As we do that though, we are mindful of our history and traditions. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

WOW i am not quite sure where to start.... First of all... I have stayed at motel 6 and it was like a 5 star hotel compared to this. As soon as i came into the room the first thing i noticed was the beautifully stained carpet, there was not a clean spot on it, and was completely black around the edges. Second came the smell of old musty unventilated basement. Awful! Our closet doors were completely broken so we could not use the closet. Also, the room had no safe... What kind of a room doesnt have a safe!??? The bathroom didnt look too bad except for the shower covered in mold and mildew. Now comes the best part.... The bed... Oh my God, i have not slept for one minute of the night. The pillow was made out of spring board so using a pillow was out of question. The sheet and blanket were definitely made out of balsa wood.. To even try to go to sleep i had to grab towels and fold them up to use as a pillow which might have worked if it wasnt for the bromen AC which made the temperature in our room above 85 for sure when we had it set at 50; also apparently this is in a great location right next to a rail road so every 15 minutes you would jump up in terror thinking that a train will come through the window. Speaking of windows.... Our blinds were definitely from the 60s in an ugly brown color and bent! The view was of a somewhat abandoned factory/garage.
The area that this dump is located in is literally in the middle of no where. Its terrifying just going outside. I wouldnt be comfortable taking out my phone without fearing that i will be robbed.
At around 430 in the morning i could not take being in this room anymore so as i got up i quickly realized that from laying on this hard as wood bed and having no pillow that i could not move my neck!!! This is inhumane. I bet in jails the beds are A LOT more comfortable than this.
So yes my best suggestion is to STAY AWAY from this place.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123sruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubManagerChicago, Manager at The Standard Club, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We’re so sorry to hear about your experience. Because we take each of our guest’s visits seriously, It’s tough to hear anytime anyone does not enjoy his or her time at our Club. We appreciate your feedback. We know that where you stay is an important part of any trip, and we work really hard to make sure The Standard Club upholds its 144-year history of excellence, but it doesn’t sound like we met your expectations. Please rest assured that we’re taking this feedback very seriously and sharing it throughout our organization to address the points you outlined. If you have other details to share, or if you’d like to discuss further, we’re here to listen. Feel free to call or send me an email at rpearson@stclub.org.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
149 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was in the hotel for one evening for a business meeting, not my choice. For me the location is a little far from the main tourist attractions and the best shopping, but I could get over that. The room was the disappointment. First was the ratty, frayed carpet at the threshold, next was what appeared to be dried blood on the comforter, next were the areas of paint peeling on the ceiling over the bed and then the mangled louvers on the mini blinds--so bad you couldn't keep the sun out. The bathroom was nice with good soap. They spent some money on a Keurig coffee maker with some premium k cups but no half and half, only powdered creamer. I didn't hate the room and if I were in the area again I might stay here if the rate was the same. Just don't expect luxury.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubManagerChicago, Manager at The Standard Club, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. Your comments are very important to us and they are not taken lightly. We have gone through every room to check the threshold of the carpets and had them repaired immediately. Our painter is in the process of re-visiting every room. Our comforters go out for dry-cleaning on a regular basis. Our Director of Housekeeping has checked every room since we received your feedback. I can assure you this is not our normal level of service and we will not accept a comforter being in place that has stains on it. I apologize that you had this one in your room. We are currently looking at alternative window treatments and hope to have a new solution soon. I do hope you will stay with us again when your travels next bring you to Chicago. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly so that I can take care of your reservation personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was an interesting stay. The location is so central and very convenient to be in the city. For that, I give the hotel a nod. My room was literally half cleaned... got back to the room at midnight and the bathroom area had no coffee, no trash emptied..it was like housekeeping stopped mid-assignment and left. The replacement items came very promptly, but the wrong type of coffee for the coffeemaker. In the morning, I had to ask for coffee again. I left my luggage in storage, and when I retrieved it the bellman didn't realize the laptop computer was separate from the piece of luggage and DROPPED the computer. This is an older hotel, with an element of old time elegance and grace. I would certainly stay here again, as the hiccups were not a deal breaker. Attention to detail would help. Employees were polite and eager to please.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJK_traveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were in the city for the Pearl Jam show at Wrigley Field, which is another story... But the staff at the Standard Club were amazing in the morning when we left. There happened to be a parade that was blocking access for cars to both the Plymouth and Dearborn entrances to the Club. The Valet staff managed to get our car as close as humanly possible (also possibly illegally close) and the bell staff carried our luggage to the car a block and a half away. Can't thank them enough!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradSleeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Buckingham Club
The Buckingham Club
#124 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Kimpton Gray Hotel
The Kimpton Gray Hotel
#16 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#34 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#15 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard Club

Property: The Standard Club
Address: 320 South Plymouth Court, Chicago, IL 60604
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#69 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#79 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard Club 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the charm and magnificence of Chicago from the comfort of The Standard Club. Established in 1869, the Club’s current location, near the financial and cultural districts of downtown Chicago, is in close proximity to many area attractions. The historic clubhouse features sixty overnight guest rooms and suites, athletic facilities complete with indoor lap pool and whirlpool, as well as various elegant dining options. Luxurious accommodations offer our guests the comforts of a small, private hotel with the vast array of amenities today’ business and leisure travelers expect. Renowned for its food and service, The Standard Club features an exquisite dining room in addition to our Grand Ballroom and various multi-purpose private banquet facilities. Our Business Center provides guests with access to a fully-equipped business office during their stay. All of these amenities and services are available to our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Standard Club Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing