We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Geez, so much potential!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Encore Liquid Lounge - CLOSED

Encore Liquid Lounge
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Description: Encore is a quick, casual place for lunch, and a relaxing lounge for drinks and small plates after work or before a show. Located in the heart of the Chicago's Loop, and just steps away from theaters and City Hall. Choose from a variety of hand-carved sandwiches and wraps before you head out for a day of sight-seeing, and sink into one of our luxurious booths, martini in hand, as you unwind from a busy day of shopping.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Geez, so much potential!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

But absolute fail. I think there are one too many hotel and theater bars/restaurants that take advantage of the fact that they get automatic customers on a regular basis because of their location – and they forget how to do things right. This is one which is a bummer because they're located by my place. I'd make it a regular if I weren't constantly disappointed by the food and sometimes forgetfulness/lack of attention from wait service. If they treated themselves like a bar/restaurant that was in the hunt for competition of customers they would probably get it right, but are off the mark right now.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodieGirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy P, General Manager at Encore Liquid Lounge, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience. I want to apologize for failing to meet your expectations. I can assure you that we definitely do not take any of our guests for granted, whether they are staying in the hotel, or our neighbors in the Loop. I appreciate the feedback, and we will use it to work towards improving our business. I hope that you might visit us again sometime, and see the improvements we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    17
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Illinois
2 reviews
“Good Atmosphere adn Service”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Loved the Pear Martini drink and looking out the window of all the holiday "bussle".

There was music in background but not too louad that you could not have a conversation.

Very nice to have a nightcap.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janet I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy P, Manager at Encore Liquid Lounge, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Janet - Thank you for the kind words! I'm glad to know that you enjoyed the Millenium Pear martini, it's definitely one of our favorites. We hope to see you again next time you're in Chicago. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyllinge, Denmark
2 reviews
“Fabulous! Excellent Food!”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Food and wine - excellent! Service is fast and very friendly too! But don't miss out on the pastas.. Yummy!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Line P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy P, Manager at Encore Liquid Lounge, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed everything, we look forward to having you back again next time you are in Chicago. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
96 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Very Eclectic Drink & Food Menu”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

So its Christmas time, and you try to fit in lunches, or after work cocktails with those colleagues you value during the holiday season to wish them well. An attorney who works for me picked Encore. I had never been there before, and am not a fan of the adjoining hotel. I was pleasantly surprised. The drinks were reasonably priced for a downtown establishment, and the menu of cocktails & beverages was substantial. The food was generously proportioned and unique in some respects. For example, Shrimp Corn Dogs! You MUST try them. Outstanding.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FhayzeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy P, Manager at Encore Liquid Lounge, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed your dinner and drinks, those Shrimp Corn Dogs are pretty delicious. We are pleased to have been a part of your holiday get together, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Spotty”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I ate in this restaurant on a Monday evening as the hotel's other restaurant was closed. I found the service spotty and the menu incomplete. I should have eaten at a place outside of the hotel.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LOVENATLPARKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy P, Manager at Encore Liquid Lounge, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
I'm sorry to hear that your dinner fell short of expectations. We are always striving to improve our guests' experiences, and we will use this feedback as an opportunity to see where we can do better. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit, I do hope that you'll give us another opportunity next time you are in Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Encore Liquid Lounge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing