We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit @ the Thompson Center” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of James R. Thompson Center

James R. Thompson Center
Ranked #169 of 631 things to do in Chicago
Attraction details
Calumet City, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Visit @ the Thompson Center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I liked the structure and the setting of the building. It has lots of restaurants. I went here to renew my driver's license. I was able to get in and out with no problem. My husband and I sat in the eating area and we had lunch when I was done. The food is excellent.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Renee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    14
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Falling Apart”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Facility appears to be poorly maintained with a weak design and poor construction, The seats were OK in the auditorium.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank AFAFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Need a new Drivers Liscense?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Because that is the only reason (other than taking a ride on the blue line) that I can think of for going here... The Sec of State office at this location is great!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“There is no reason to visit here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

There is no reason to visit the Thompson Center unless you have business here. All that is located here is a crappy food court and state offices.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank MEAV46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinoi
Level Contributor
136 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful architecture from the inside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

This Helmut Jahn creation is fantastic when you're inside, near the center, looking up into the atrium. I'm not fond of the outside appearance--looks too 70's. People who work here hate it because it's almost impossible to cool it sufficiently in the summer as it acts like a big greenhouse. But it is truly stunning in appearance, plus there are plenty of fast food choices!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharonov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed James R. Thompson Center also viewed

 

Been to James R. Thompson Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing