We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seems To Be Not As Good As It Was”
Review of Tuscany on Taylor

Tuscany on Taylor
Reserve with OpenTable
Tuscany on Taylor is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #671 of 9,602 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: University Village / Little Italy
Cross street: Morgan
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
943 reviews
710 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Seems To Be Not As Good As It Was”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

My last review, over two years ago, stated "consistently good" but now it's a little closer to average. The Caesar salad was a real disappointment. The pasta nothing special. The waiter would consistently abruptly interrupt our conversation without hesitation or request. Parking still conveniently available next door. Just doesn't seem to be the special restaurant it once was.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarshBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    47
    15
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hanover
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Real Italian”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding, real Italian cuisine. Excellent wait staff and great service. Very nice location in an old Italian Chicago neighborhood. We were in a party of 10 and had the service of 3 servers taking care of us. Top notch treatment from start to finish.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DonaldO899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A fun evening in what seems to be a popular venue - Noisy but worth a trip”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Okay, previous reviews indicated noisy and we almost didn't go because of that and a couple of reviews that dinged the service.

Yes it was noisy. Why, because lots of people were there, the place was packed by locals, not tourists. We were probably the only ones there venturing from the safety of Michigan Ave eateries to Little Italy.

The service we felt was good and the wait staff was attentive to our needs. We had no issues with these concerns expressed by other reviewers. Our meals were well prepared, we had no issue with what we ordered, the preparations were good. We thought that the bruschetta was as good or better as any we had in our recent trip to Italy. The basil was very fresh giving a great start to our meal. The wine selection was reasonable for the locale. The price points seemed reasonable to us for Chicago.

We would go back again. We would also like to explore some of the other Italian restaurants in little Italy on future trips to Chicago. I don't think that this part of Chicago gets its fair share of coverage and should be explored more by visitors.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShadowLocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hand-made Dinner on the Terrace”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Mashing up the garlic for the garlic bread on the table, in front of us - lovely, as was the service. Sitting on the terrace on a less than busy, beautiful night (rather than in what looked a bit barn-like inside) probably helped. We had a couple of wines each and a few tapas - plenty to fill us and consequently not costly. Much better than other run of the mill Italian places in Taylor street.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi-Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Noisy Place”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Haven't been to Tuscany in a while. This restaurant is to noisy for me. I had the Eggplant Parmesan and it was way too cheesy. Had to yell at the person sitting across from me through our whole dinner. Looks like other people like it, but it's really not my favorite Italian Restaurant. There are many more better than this in Chicago.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyM1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscany on Taylor also viewed

 

Been to Tuscany on Taylor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing