We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italians serving Italian”
Review of Tuscany on Taylor

Tuscany on Taylor
Reserve with OpenTable
Tuscany on Taylor is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #668 of 9,668 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: University Village / Little Italy
Cross street: Morgan
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Italians serving Italian”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Recommended by concierge at Fairmont. Sat outside. Two attentive waiters who spoke Italian as their native language. Our waiter made excellent wine and food recommendations. Homemade Tuscan sausage was tasty. Pasta, seafood, and chicken dishes authentic. Overall a fantastic experience in Italian section of Chicago.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmmNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    48
    15
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great drinks and OK food.”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was pleased with the service and underwhelmed by the food.
Great bread and garlic dip but the entrees were less enjoyable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You don't often get a "wow" lunch like this”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Went here for a quick business lunch and was really impressed with the quality of the lunch menu. The pasta portions were generous and were delicious. They have a great spicy pepper and oil that they serve with good bread - a must try for those who like it hot! (I even put this on my pasta I liked it so much!) Service was prompt and attentive. Parking was a litle bit of a challenge but that's normal for the city.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank khorais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Boisterous Room, Good Food”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Eating at Tuscany is like being in the middle of a party. The room is crowded and noisy, but it is because everyone is having a good time. The mean starts with outstanding foccacia and fresh bread, with olive oil, a head of crushed roasted garlic, and cheese for dipping. A major problem is not to eat too much bread before lunch or dinner. Minestrone is very good, and the pasta dishes (particularly the ravioli) are very reliable. A pizza oven was added several years ago (replacing a large rotisserie full of chickens), and this is a nice touch. Very friendly service -- we seem to get the same waiter almost every time we visit -- he has probably worked there for 20 years. Just a short distance from downtown, and worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KingofThreePutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious food, attentive service”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

On a visit to Chicago, a friend brought me here for dinner in Little Italy. We shared a salad of grilled calamari (amazing); I had the fagioli (enough for a meal when you add the garlic and bread); and then ordered the agnolotti on the special. It was all fresh and flavorful, and the profiteroles for dessert capped off a great evening. The bartender is generous with the drinks and the little patio outside is a nice option for a warm evening. I can't wait for my next trip!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monisf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscany on Taylor also viewed

 

Been to Tuscany on Taylor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing