We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & service!”

Horizon Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #1,012 of 9,602 Restaurants in Chicago
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Neighborhood: Lakeview
Sioux City, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great food & service!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We dined here while visiting in Chicago recently. Had been shopping in the neighborhood & were hungry for lunch, so we stopped here. We enjoyed the great sandwiches on homemade pretzel buns, delicious coleslaw with a bit of dill weed. We wish we would have seen the sign hanging saying save room for dessert, but we did not, so could not indulge, but they did look Amazing! Maybe next time! Would definitely recommend this one! Very good service!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    9
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great family cafe”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Owner Nick knows how to run a cafe like no one else. The soups are amazing and homemade. I love the potato soup and the tomato cous cous soup in particular. They serve breakfast all day and even have a peanut butter waffle. In addition, they have great Greek specials like mousaka on Thursdays.. The service is always top notch and it is one of the cleanest cafe's. I have ever been to.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank thelemalove93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The Best part of Lakeview”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Me and my husband have been going to Horizon Cafe for 3 years and have never been dissapointed. In fact, we used to live 4 blocks from there and the only bad thing about moving is that we have to bus it to our favorite little diner. My favorite thing there is the caesar wrap, but honestly anything off the menu is gauranteed to be fresh and extremely flavorful. Their fresh soups are their staple, as they should be and I would eat the Creamy potato any day! We love you Horizon!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts!”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Went for breakfast and had the "3" egg omelet. It was the biggest omelet I've ever had. It was brimming with vegetables! It was served with hash browns and toast and was enough for any hearty appetite (or could easily be shared). Great value for your money. Service was fast and efficient. Will definitely go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MNTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fresh food and reasonable prices!”
Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Breakfast was delicious. The food is the freshest I have seen in awhile. Will definitely be returning.

Helpful?
Thank Jeff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Horizon Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing